Watson College of Education Graduates Recognized for Contributions

Monday, June 15, 2015

Twenty-three Watson College of Education graduates have been recognized for their outstanding contribution to education in New Hanover County Schools. The alumni were among teachers and principals honored at the school district’s Educator of the Year banquet held June 9.

Three alumni – Katie Snyder ’08, ‘12M; Jerry Oates ’95, ‘03M; and Laura Graham ’10M – were recipients of New Hanover County Schools’ top educator awards. Synder, who teaches world history and honors psychology at Hoggard High School, was named Teacher of the Year. Snyder is currently enrolled in the Educational Leadership doctoral program at the Watson College with a concentration in curriculum and instruction. Oates, principal at Williston Middle School, was named Principal of the Year. He holds a bachelor’s degree in history with teaching licensure and a Master of School Administration. Graham, who teaches first grade at Eaton Elementary, was recognized as the Elementary School Teacher of the Year. Graham received a master’s degree in language and literacy from UNCW. Winners were presented an award from the New Hanover County Board of Education and Wells Fargo Foundation.

Snyder and Oates will represent New Hanover County Schools at the regional level.  

“The Watson College attracts outstanding students, so we are never surprised to hear of their success in schools and related settings,” said Watson College Dean Kenneth Teitelbaum. “We offer inspiring, supportive teacher preparation programs that help our students become exceptional teachers for all children. We are tremendously proud that so many of our graduates are being recognized as award-winning teachers locally and throughout the state.”

Other Watson College alumni honored are:

  • Peggy Bridgers ’00, ‘04M, Ashley High (bachelor’s degree in English with teaching licensure; M.Ed., secondary English)

  • Dana Brigman ‘95, College Rd. Early Childhood Center (elementary education)

  • Lisa Cole ‘10M, Castle Hayne Elementary (M.Ed., curriculum and instruction)

  • Lynda Cooley ‘95, Mary C. Williams Elementary (elementary education)

  • Amy Fallon ’06, ‘10M, Sunset Park Elementary (elementary education; M.Ed., language and literacy)

  • Jamie Green ‘04, Laney High (secondary English licensure)

  • Kerri Harris ‘06, Howe Pre-K (education of young children)

  • Maureen Hill ‘05, Ogden Elementary (elementary education)

  • Peter Hunt ‘08, Carolina Beach Elementary (elementary education licensure)

  • Synthia Kevitz ‘12, Noble Middle (M.Ed., middle grades education)

  • Constance Lamar ‘07, Winter Park Elementary (elementary education)

  • Pamela Mack ‘91, Johnson Early Childhood Center (elementary education licensure)

  • Allison Munford ’08, ‘14M, College Park Elementary (elementary education; M.Ed., language and literacy)

  • Allyson Redd ’05, ‘14M, Roland-Grise Middle (middle grades education; M.Ed., middle grades education)

  • Jennifer Rosser ‘11, Pine Valley Elementary (M.Ed., curriculum and instruction)

  • Julie Saba ‘98M, Codington Elementary (M.Ed., language and literacy)

  • Stacy Stone ‘95, Parsley Elementary (special education)

  • Ana Valle-Greene ‘09, Forest Hills Elementary (elementary education licensure)

  • Joy Whitlow ‘94, Bradley Creek Elementary (middle grades education)

  • Carole Piner ’86, ‘04M, Anderson Elementary (intermediate education; Master of School Administration)