UNCW’s Lugo Named President-Elect of UNC Faculty Assembly

Tuesday, May 12, 2015

Wilmington, NC - Gabriel Lugo, UNCW’s outgoing Faculty Senate President and associate professor of mathematics and statistics, has been named president-elect of the UNC Faculty Assembly. Representing the faculty of the 17 constituent institutions of the University of North Carolina, the assembly is dedicated to upholding and exercising the principles of academic freedom, shared governance, tenure and the curriculum.

“I am honored and humbled by the trust of my colleagues who have chosen me as president-elect of the UNC Faculty Assembly. I am fortunate for all I have learned and will learn from presidents Dr. Steve Leonard and Dr. Catherine Rigsby, who have set the bar for dedication and spirit,” said Lugo. “Given the changing landscape of higher education in our country, and especially in North Carolina, I am eager to serve in an advisory capacity to the President of the University, the Board of Governors and other state legislators on matters of university-wide importance. The Faculty Assembly will continue to gather and exchange information on behalf of faculties on how to provide the best educational experience to our students, and to demonstrate the value of a college degree and a well-rounded academic experience."

As president-elect of the UNC Faculty Assembly, he will shadow current president Stephen Leonard, University of North Carolina Chapel Hill, over the next year before assuming his new role.

Lugo has been honored with the J. Marshal Crews Distinguished Faculty Award, a Distinguished Professor of Mathematics Award, Chancellor's Teaching Excellence Award and was a Carnegie U.S. Professor of the Year nominee.

A faculty member at UNCW since 1982, Lugo served four one-year terms as UNCW Faculty Senate President. Stephen Meinhold, associate professor of political science, has been elected as UNCW’s next Faculty Senate President.

In 1972, the University of North Carolina President called for the creation of Faculty Assembly. Since then, three UNCW faculty members have been elected President, with Lugo being the fourth. Richard Veit, the most recent President of Faculty Assembly, served 19 years in the UNCW Faculty Senate as senator, secretary, and president.