Faculty Honored with Teaching, Scholarship and Service Awards

Thursday, September 04, 2014

UNCW faculty members were honored with the presentation of annual teaching, scholarship and service awards at the first faculty meeting of the 2014-15 academic year on Sept. 4.  

The meeting was called to order by Chancellor William Sederburg. Tobi Polland, SGA President, delivered greetings on behalf of the student body before the presentation of honors. 
G. Brooks Avery, professor of chemistry, received the Distinguished Faculty Scholar Award. Noted in his nomination, "Dr. Avery's eagerness to collaborate with colleagues and students and continuous research productivity make him clear candidate for this award. He is a gifted teacher, mentor and world-class scholar."
Patricia H. Kelley, professor of geology, was named the 2014 recipient of the J. Marshall Crews Distinguished Faculty Award. Kelley was additionally recognized as the Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching recipient, which was announced in March. Jody Burke, chair of the UNCW alumni board of directors, was on hand to present the award. A former student of Kelley's wrote in her nomination, "Dr. Kelley's diverse array of professional accomplishments and leadership capacities are simply amazing. She inspired me to earn a Ph.D." 
Cara N. Cilano, professor of English, was announced as the Board of Trustees Teaching Excellence Award winner. The nomination committee noted Cilano's leadership role in the university studies implementation, ETEAL and study abroad initiatives. A former student wrote, "Dr. Cilano was the most influential teacher in my entire academic career because she encouraged me to take an active role in my learning by teaching me that discomfort and responsibility lead to productivity."
Other honorees included:

Chancellor’s Teaching Excellence Award Recipients:
Michael M. Benedetti, geography and geology
Karen A. Daniels, psychology
Nancy M. Hritz, School of Health and Applied Human Sciences
Tracy H. Meyer, marketing
Colleen A. Reilly, English
Amy R. Taylor, early childhood, elementary, middle level, literacy and special education

Lecturer of the Year Award:
Marianella Jara, foreign languages and literatures
Jack Tompkins, computer science
Graduate Mentor Award: 
Richard L. Ogle, psychology
Excellence in e-Learning Award:   
Salena Rabidoux, Watson College of Education
Distinguished Scholarly Engagement and Public Service Award:
Eleni Pappamihiel, Watson College of Education​​​
Distinguished Teaching Professorship Award:        
Cara N. Cilano, English
Jeffery M. Hill, environmental studies
Ron Vetter, associate provost for research and dean of the UNCW Graduate School, presented research awards. Chris Finelli, biology and marine biology; Mark Galizio, psychology; and Fran Scarlett, Small Business and Technology Development Center, were recognized for receiving grants totaling at least $1 million dollars.