Alumni Association Accepting Nominations for the J. Marshall Crews Distinguished Faculty Award

Wednesday, July 09, 2014

The Alumni Association is now accepting nominations for the J. Marshall Crews Distinguished Faculty Award. This award, named for J. Marshall Crews, honors a faculty member who exhibits the qualities of service and leadership that Crews personified throughout his life. 

During his 33-year career at Wilmington College and UNCW, Crews was a professor of mathematics and served as university registrar, academic dean, director of admissions and dean of students. 

Additionally, he is the author of From These Beginnings, a history of Wilmington College from 1947 to 1969. Crews passed away in April 2010.

This award is based on the following criteria:
- Service 
- Student Support Effort 
- Leadership Roles
- Community Service and Outreach Efforts 

Nominations may be submitted by any faculty/staff member, alumnus/alumna, student or community member by August 1, 2014. Submit the online form and a letter of recommendation illustrating how the nominee exhibits the criteria outlined above to or mail to:  Kim Gargiulo, Wise Alumni House, 1713 Market Street, Wilmington, NC 28403, Campus Mail Box:  5906.

The award will be presented with a $500 stipend to the winner at the fall faculty meeting on September 4, 2014.