Nominations Open For UNCW Athletic Hall of Fame

Friday, July 12, 2013

The UNCW Athletic Hall of Fame honors former student-athletes, coaches and administrators, as well as longtime contributors, at the institution. Forty-one individuals have been honored since the elite group was established in 1998, including the inaugural inductee, former coach and department founder William J. Brooks.

Inductions are now held every two years. The Class of 2012 included women's athletics pioneer Sheila Boles, men's golf standout Derek Brown, gifted sprinter Xzavier Chisholm and longtime benefactor David Jones.

According to the Hall's criteria, candidates must have made outstanding contributions during their association with the university. If a student-athlete, the individual must have left the university in good academic standing. If a teacher-coach or administrator, the candidate must have held that position for at least five years. Special consideration will be given for significant contributions to society through community activities and performance in chosen fields that bring credit and distinction to the university.

Anyone may nominate a candidate to the Hall of Fame. Nomination forms are available on or may be obtained at the Athletic Communications Office in the Nixon Annex adjacent to Trask Coliseum.

Nominations must be submitted to Joe Browning, Chairman, UNCW Athletic Hall of Fame, UNCW, 601 South College Road, Wilmington, N.C. 28403, by Sept. 12, 2013. For more information, call 910.962.3236.

UNCW Athletic Hall of Fame Inductees

1998 - Gene Bogash, William J. Brooks, Janet Johnson, Sam O'Leary, Raiford G. Trask, Carl Willis
1999 - T. Eugene Dew, Amy Jackson, Estell Lee, David Miller, Dr. William P. Nixon, Jr.
2000 - Joel Gibson, Bill Haywood, Jay Neary, David Sandlin
2002 - Garry Cooper, Burak Erdem, Heather Fenton, Lou Howard
2004 - Jill Amos, Gene Borowski, George Diab, Terry Middleswarth, Dave Wolff
2006 - Eddie Booth, Mel Gibson, Amy Lewis Holland, Bill Mayew
2008 - Sandy Dew, Calvin Lane, Michael McDuffie, Christy Timbers Rife
2010 - Gwen Austin, Bruce Cavenaugh, Dan Gallagher, Bill Harris, George Rountree, III
2012 - Sheila Boles, Derek Brown, Xzavier Chisholm, David Jones