Skip to header Skip to Content Skip to Footer

Faculty & Staff Resources


The Janet Mason Ellerby Women's and Gender Studies Scholarly Award was created in 2010 as an annually funded award at the University of North Carolina Wilmington in recognition of Dr. Ellerby's significant contributions to feminist scholarship and activism.

The award is considered a merit award and the recipient will be selected on a written nomination. It will be awarded annually to one continuing full-time or part-time faculty member with two or more continuous years in good standing at UNCW. The award is housed in UNCW's Gender Studies and Resource Center.

For information on donating towards the Janet Mason Ellerby Women's and Gender Studies Scholarly Award contact the UNCW Women's Studies and Resource Center at 910.962.7870 or University Advancement at 910.962.3751.

Past Recipients

  • 2018-2019 Distinguished Scholar, Dr. Donyell Roseboro
  • 2017-2018 Emerging Scholar, Dr. Michaela Howells
  • 2016-2017 Distinguished Scholar, Dr. Paula Kamenish
  • 2015-2016 Emerging Scholar, Dr. Sarah Hallenbeck
  • 2014-2015, Distinguished Scholar, Dr. Donna King
  • 2013-2014, Emerging Scholar, Dr. Chadwick Roberts
  • 2012-2013, Distinguished Scholar, Dr. Barbara Waxman
  • 2011-2012, Emerging Scholar, Dr. Julie-Ann Scott
  • 2010-2011, Distinguished Scholar, Dr. Lisa Pollard

The Genbder Studies and Resource Center established the Kathleen Berkeley Inconvenient Woman Award to recognize a UNCW staff or faculty member for his or her sustained commitment to issues of social justice at UNCW.

The annual award was established in honor of Dr. Berkeley’s work as a courageous advocate for marginalized members of the UNCW community. Her work at UNCW is commendable for more than her outstanding scholarly achievements.

During her career here, Dr. Berkeley has continuously challenged the status quo in an effort to guarantee that UNCW would strive meet its obligation to every student, staff and faculty member. She has taken risks, putting the needs of others before her own, and used her voice in her daring commitment to equality. Her career is a testament to Audre Lorde’s belief that “your silence will not protect you.”

For information on The Kathleen Berkeley Inconvenient Woman Award contact the UNCW Gender Studies and Resource Center at 910.962.7870.

Past Recipients

  • 2018-2019 Dr. Ariana Mrak
  • 2017-2018 Dr. Edel Segovia
  • 2016-2017 Dr. Candace Thompson
  • 2015-2016 Dr. Michelle Scatton-Tessier
  • 2014-2015 Dr. Kathleen Berkeley

The Gender Studies and Resource Center established the Feminist Teaching Award to recognize UNCW faculty for excellence in teaching.

The annual award honors excellence in feminist pedagogy, which values participatory, equitable, and inclusive classroom communities, works to create an atmosphere where students can find their own voices and become empowered, and is committed to reflective practices and intersectional social justice and equity for marginalized peoples.

According to Caroline Shrewsbury, the feminist classroom is “a net of relationships with people who care about each other’s learning [and is a place] to connect to our roots, our past, and to envision the future. It is a place to utilize and develop all of our talents and abilities, to develop excellence that is not limited to the few. ... In a feminist classroom, students integrate the skills of critical thinking with respect for and ability to work with others.”

For information on the Feminist Teaching Award, contact the Gender Studies and Resource Center at 910.962.7870.

Past Recipients

2018-2019 Dr. Maia Butler