Military Affairs

Veteran's Day event at UNCW amphitheater

Office of Military Affairs Events

Events are held in the Military Resource Lounge in Warwick Center (across from the cashier windows) unless noted. 

August 2019

  • Wednesday, August 21: Military Resource Lounge Open House/Welcome Back Lunch, 11:30 am-1 pm
  • Friday, August 23: Breakfast at Dubs Cafe in Warwick Center, 8:30-9:30 am (pay your own way)
  • Tuesday, August 27: Plan Your Semester, 10-11 am
  • Wednesday, August 28: UNCW Involvement Carnival, 10 am-2 pm (Campus Commons by the lakes)
  • Wednesday, August 28: Plan Your Semester, 3-4 pm
  • Friday, August 30: Breakfast at Dubs Cafe in Warwick Center, 8:30-9:30 am (pay your own way)

September 2019

  • Monday, September 2: Labor Day--Campus Closed
  • Tuesday, September 3: Peanut Butter and Jelly Breakfast to Go, 8 am
  • Friday, September 6: Breakfast at Dubs Cafe in Warwick Center, 8:30-9:30 am (pay your own way)
  • Tuesday, September 10: Zotero Citation Software Training, 10 am or 3 pm
  • Tuesday, September 10: Office Hours in the Lounge, 2-4 pm
  • Thursday, September 12: Project SOAR meet and greet, 12 pm 
  • Friday, September 13: Breakfast at Dubs Cafe in Warwick Center, 8:30-9:30 am (pay your own way)
  • Tuesday, September 17: Constitution Day celebration, TBD
  • Wednesday, September 25: Office Hours in the Lounge, 9-11 am
  • Friday, September 27: Breakfast at Dubs Cafe in Warwick Center, 8:30-9:30 am (pay your own way)

October 2019

  • Tuesday, October 1: Deans and Donuts, 9-11 am
  • Thursday-Friday, October 10-11: Fall Break; no classes
  • Tuesday, October 15: Tea Tuesday, 1-2 pm
  • Saturday, October 19: Seahawk Social, 1-2 pm 

Events Archive

Recent Events

 

Faculty and Staff Military Retreat

On August 8, 2019, the Office of Military Affairs hosted a training retreat for faculty and staff of UNCW and Cape Fear Community College. The retreat began with an Amphbious Assault Vehicle demonstration and other training simulations at Marine Corps Base Camp Lejeune. From there, participants visited Marine Corps Air Station New River to learn about the MV-22 Osprey aircraft. Along the way, participants discussed the nature of military life. For more information and to sign up for next year's retreat, please check our Faculty and Staff Resources page. 

People inside a military aircraft