Department of History

Faculty          —          Adjunct Faculty         —         Emeritus Faculty


Faculty


Mollenauer

Lynn W. Mollenauer, Ph.D., Northwestern University
Department Chair and Associate Professor

Early Modern European History

Email: mollenauerl@uncw.edu
Office: Morton Hall, 232 

Chen

Yixin Chen, Ph.D., Washington University in St. Louis
Associate Professor

Twentieth-Century Chinese History

E-mail: cheny@uncw.edu
Office: Morton Hall, 230

Crowe

Nathan Crowe, Ph.D., University of Minnesota
Assistant Professor and Undergraduate Coordinator

History of Science

Email: crowen@uncw.edu
Office: Morton Hall, 228

Venkat Dhulipala

Venkat Dhulipala, Ph.D., University of Minnesota
Associate Professor

History of Modern South Asia

Email: dhulipalav@uncw.edu
Office: Morton Hall, 257

Ellithorpe

Corey EllithorpePh.D., University of North Carolina
Visiting Lecturer

Ancient History

Emai: ellithorpec@uncw.edu
Office: Morton Hall, 223

FainProfile

W. Taylor Fain, Ph.D., University of Virginia
Associate Professor and Graduate Coordinator

America in the World; International History

E-mail: fainwt@uncw.edu
Office: Morton Hall, 260

Gisolfi

Monica Gisolfi, Ph.D., Columbia University
Associate Professor

History of the American South; Environmental history

Email: gisolfim@uncw.edu
Office: Morton Hall, 263

Harris

Glen A. Harris, Ph.D., Florida State University
Associate Professor

African-American History; U.S.. History; Harlem Renaissance; Civil Rights Movement; Hollywood and Black Film

Email: harrisg@uncw.edu
Office: Morton Hall, 258

Hart_Rob

T. Robert HartPh.D., University of Alabama
Lecturer

Environmental History; Southern history

Email: hartt@uncw.edu
Office: Morton Hall, 261

Houpt_David-BW.jpg

David HouptPh.D., The Graduate Center, CUNY
Assistant Professor

Revolutionary America; Political Culture; Atlantic world

Email: houptd@uncw.edu
Office: Morton Hall, 234

Kisrshke

Amy Helene Kirschke, Ph.D., Tulane University
Professor and Chair of Art & Art History

African American Art; 20th C. Art; African Art; Contemporary

Email: kirschkea@uncw.edu
Office: Cultural Arts Bldg, 1048

Lavere

David La Vere, Ph.D., Texas A&M University
Professor

Southeastern and North Carolina Indians; Southern Plains

Email: lavered@uncw.edu
Office: Morton Hall, 233

Lezotte Profile pic

Jennifer Le Zotte, Ph.D., University of Virginia
Assistant Professor

Public History; Modern United States Culture and Capitalism

Email: lezottej@uncw.edu
Office: Morton Hall, 226

McFarland

Stephen McFarland, Ph.D. University of Texas
Professor

History of flight, technology, and the Middle East

Email: mcfarlands@uncw.edu
Office: Morton Hall, 225

Mehl

Eva Mehl, Ph.D., University of California, Davis
Associate Professor

History of Latin America and the Spanish Empire

Email: mehle@uncw.edu
Office: Morton Hall, 229

Seidman

Michael M. Seidman, Ph.D., University of Amsterdam
Professor

Modern Europe and Social/Individual History

Email: seidmanm@uncw.edu
Office: Morton Hall, 231

Shefsiek

Kenneth P. Shefsiek, Ph.D., University of Georgia
Associate Professor

Public History and Colonial U.S.

Email: shefsiekk@uncw.edu
Office: Morton Hall, 264

Spaulding

Robert Mark Spaulding, Ph.D., Harvard University
Professor

Germany, European Political Economy, Global Trade

Email: spauldingr@uncw.edu
Office: Morton Hall, 227

Tanny

Jarrod Tanny, Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley
Associate Professor and Charles & Hannah Block Distinguished Scholar in Jewish History

Russian-Jewish History

Email: tannyj@uncw.edu
Office: Morton Hall, 254

Towenend Paul Townend, Ph.D., University of Chicago
Professor
Associate Vice Chancellor and Dean of Undergraduate Studies

Modern And Early British and Irish History

Email: townendp@uncw.edu
Office: Alderman 110C
Usilton Larry Usilton, Ph.D., Mississippi State University
Professor

Ancient and Medieval Western Civilization

Email: usiltonl@uncw.edu
Office: Morton Hall, 224
Zombeck-profile_BW.jpg

Angie Zombek, Ph.D., University of Florida
Assistant Professor

U.S. Civil War & Reconstruction, the Old South, Gender

Email: zombeka@uncw.edu
Office: Morton Hall, 259

Part-time Faculty

Nana Amponsah, Ph.D.

Email: amponsahn@uncw.edu

Ryan Chapman, M.A.

Email: chapmanrj@uncw.edu
Office: Morton Hall, 253

Sean Goforth, M.A.

Email: goforths@uncw.edu

Joseph P. Gouverneur, Ph.D.

Email: gouverneurj@uncw.edu
Office: Morton Hall, 220

Matthew Hassett, M.A.

Email: hassetm@uncw.edu
Office: Morton 221

Donald Johnson, M.D., M.A.

Email: johnsondg@uncw.edu
Office: Morton Hall, 222

Christine Lamberton, M.A.

Email: lambertonc@uncw.edu

Christopher Laursen, Ph.D.

Email: laursenc@uncw.edu
Office: Morton Hall, 211

Adjunct Faculty

Carole Fink, Ph.D.

Email: finkc@uncw.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Kathleen A. Berkeley, Ph.D.

Candice Bredbenner, Ph.D.

Walter H. Conser, Ph.D.

Chris E. Fonvielle, Jr., Ph.D.

Susan P. McCaffray, Ph.D.

Melton McLaurin, Ph.D.

Lisa Pollard, Ph.D.

Robert Toplin, Ph.D.

Alan Watson, Ph.D.