2006 Razor Walker Award Winners

Photo of Angie West

Photo of Wanda Bass

Camp Special Time
Angie West and Wanda Bass

"Serving as role models, Wanda and Angie teach skills that only the real world can provide."

Pediatric nurses Angie West and Wanda Bass of Wilmington created Camp Special Time, a free weekend program for children with special needs from military families at Camp Lejeune. The children experience a fun and loving night away from home while their parents receive a much-needed respite from continuous care. Marine volunteers and students from UNCW and Cape Fear Community College gain hands-on experience, skills and confidence as they care for and interact with children with various degrees of disabilities.

View more information about Angie West and Wanda Bass >

Photo of David Jones

David L. Jones

"David has given of his time, talent and resources to numerous organizations and affiliations. Our community has been positively influenced because of this."

David Jones has worked with, supported and contributed to local institutions and organizations that include UNCW, the YMCA, the Waccamaw Boys and Girls Home, Boy Scouts of America, United Cerebral Palsy, Southeastern Sickle Cell Anemia, Brigade Boys and Girls Cub and many others. He is past president of the UNCW Seahawk Club, a member of the Board of Visitors and has been instrumental in raising funds for scholarships.

View more information about David Jones >

Photo of Dr. Lloyd Hackley

Dr. Lloyd V. Hackley

"As chancellor of Fayetteville State University, Lloyd Hackley led that institution through a period of growth and increased academic achievement. He is a recognized figure nationally in character education."

Hackley is chancellor emeritus of Fayetteville State University, chairman emeritus of the national CHARACTER COUNTS! Coalition and a nationally certified ethics and character development instructor. He has also served as president of the North Carolina Community College System and has chaired the North Carolina Child Advocacy Institute, the Arkansas Civil Rights Commission and the President's Advisory Board on Historically Black Colleges and Universities.

View more information about Dr. Lloyd Hackely >

Photo of Dr. Noel Jones

Dr. Noel K. Jones

"Noel Jones, literacy scholar, educational leader and master teacher, exemplifies life-long commitment to the highest standards of excellence in literary programs and practices."

In 1990, Jones initiated the study of a new literacy program originating in New Zealand called Reading Recovery. He led the acceptance of this program by the literacy faculty and served as program director at UNCW, which became one of only 22 university training centers for Reading Recovery in the United States. He has been instrumental in the development of strong literacy programs at numerous public schools.

View more information about Dr. Noel Jones >

Photo of Phillip Kirk

Phillip J. Kirk, Jr.

"During Phil Kirk's tenure at NCCBI, the organization took the lead in successfully working for passage of the largest K-12 and higher education bond referendum in the state's history."

Kirk served as president of the North Carolina Center for Business and Industry for 16 years. During his long tenure, he worked with the business community to encourage unwavering support of school improvement efforts at all levels of education. He has consistently emphasized public education and other programs for children throughout his career.

View more information about Phillip Kirk >

Razor Walker Honorees / Supporters

  • Dr. Michael C. Blackwell '05
  • Mr. John N. Dornan '01
  • Dr. Dudley E. Flood '94
  • Ms. Elizabeth Frasier '05
  • Mr. Charles F. Green, III '98
  • Mr. Benjamin B. Halterman '95
  • Ms. Anna W. Hattaway '95
  • Ms. Jennifer Buell Horschman '99
  • Governor James B. Hunt, Jr. '00
  • Ms. Jan Lewis '01
  • Dr. John H. Lucas '93 and Ms. Blondola P. Lucas
  • Mr. Hugh MacRae '00/The Oleander Company
  • Dr. Jack A. Menius '05
  • Ms. Mary S. Mosley '04
  • Ms. Tannis F. Nelson '03
  • Senator Martin Nesbitt '93
  • Ms. Constance N. Parker '03
  • Dr. Frank R. Reynolds '04 and Ms. Marguerite Reynolds
  • Dr. Marc J. Sosne '02 and Ms. Ann Sosne

Special Thanks To:

Corporate Host:

Dell Logo

Media Partner:

News Channel 3
News Channel 3 Logo

UNCW - Information Technology Systems Division