Dennis Kubasko Named GE’s 2017 Science Olympiad Volunteer of the Year

Congratulations to Dennis Kubasko! GE has selected him for the 2017 Rose Martyn Spirit Award for Science Olympiad Volunteer of the Year. Parastoo Muse, project leader at GE, presented the award to Kubasko during the 2017 Regional Science Olympiad awards ceremony held in Trask Coliseum on March 4.

GE Hitachi Nuclear Energy created the award in 2015 in memory of Rose Martyn, a GE employee and respected representative of the nuclear industry who organized GE volunteers for Science Olympiad for many years. The award honors an individual who has made a significant contribution and embodies the spirit of middle and high school teachers and university, corporate and community volunteers who devote countless hours to coaching students and coordinating this annual regional STEM event.

Kubasko is an associate professor of secondary science education at the Watson College and former director of WCE’s Center for Education in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (CESTEM). He has served as co-director of the Southeast Regional Science Olympiad competition for the past eight years. His role with Science Olympiad involves recruiting dozens of school coaches and hundreds of volunteers. On the day of the competition, he orchestrates 43 events that include engineering challenges and collaborative station-based STEM activities for more than 1,000 middle and high school students from 41 schools across the region.

“Science Olympiad is such an important event,” Kubasko said. “Every year, I’m incredibly fortunate to work with so many dedicated volunteers to give students a meaningful STEM-infused opportunity. I’m glad GE has created an award to celebrate volunteer efforts on behalf of students in our region. There are literally hundreds of individuals who are deserving of this award and I am humbled and honored to receive it.”

The Southeast Regional North Carolina Science Olympiad competition is held annually at UNCW.

News Coverage of the 2017 Southeast Regional Science Olympiad
Time Warner Cable: