Duplin County Pilots Self-Mentoring Program in District

Marsha Carr, Somer Lewis with Duplin County instructors Connie Perkins and Carolyn SmithDuplin County Schools recently entered into a partnership with two instructors from UNCW, Ms. Somer Lewis and Dr. Marsha L. Carr to provide Self-Mentoring services for a pilot program to be implemented during the upcoming school year. The Self-Mentoring project is sponsored by a grant made possible by the Dean's Office of the Donald R. Watson College of Education.

On hand for the official signing was Dr. Austin Obasohan, Superintendent of Schools for Duplin County and Mr. Cary Powers, Assistant Superintendent for Academics & Administration in addition to Carolyn Smith and Connie Perkins, Beginning Teacher Support Coordinators. Smith and Perkins took the lead in securing the services for the school system's educators. The Self-Mentoring pilot received the UNCW Center for Teaching Excellence 2011 Summer Pedagogy Development Initiative Award.