Watson College of Education Faculty Research Interests & Specialties

Jale Aldemir

Dr. Marsha Carr

carrm@uncw.edu 

910-962-2913

Mentoring (K-12), Coaching (K-12 Content, Cognitive, & Executive), Self-Mentoring (K-12 Leadership, Self-Efficacy, Confidence Internvals), District & School Level Organizational Management, District & School Level Culture, Superintendency
DeGennaro

Dr. Donna DeGennaro

degennarod@uncw.edu

910-962-7551
Decolonizing Methodologies & Transformative praxis, Video Ethnography Practices in Support of Youth Voice & Agency, Critical Media Pedagogy Informing Social Justice Education
Devita

Dr. James DeVita

devitaj@uncw.edu

910-962-3953

Marginalized & Targeted Populations in Higher Education, Multiple Identities, Intersecting Identities & Development for LGBTQIA Populations, Curriculum & Pedagogy in Higher Education Graduate Programs
garrettdikkers_web.jpg

Dr. Amy Garrett Dikkers

garretdikkersa@uncw.edu 

910-962-2915

Primary area of research & specialization is K-12 & Higher Education Blended & Online Learning including: A Longitudinal Study of the North Carolina Virtual Public School, Blended Learning Models in K-12 Education, the Intersection of Online and Face-to-Face Teaching, Online Learning for At-Risk Youth, the Technology-Enhanced Community (TEC) Partnership Model in Education, & Social Presence in Online Learning. Additional areas of research interest include International & Comparative Education & Community Involvement in Education.
DeniseHenning_ExecutiveProfile.jpg

Dr. Denise Henning

henningd@uncw.edu 

910-859-4889

Intersectionality and inclusivity of women in higher education, reducing the disparity of Math and science attainment of Native American/First Nations/Indigenous students, American Indian Success, Appreciative Inquiry in organizational sustainability and meaningful partnerships. Leadership in post-secondary education.

Dr. Jeremy Hilburn

hilburnj@uncw.edu 

910-962-2897

Social Studies Education, Immigration, Global Education


Dr. Steven D. Hooker

hookersd@uncw.edu 

910.962.7577

School Policy, Social Justice Issues in Schools, School Culture, LGBTQ Issues in Schools

Mr. Dar Mayweather

mayweatherd@uncw.edu 

Leadership Studies and Pedagogy, Student Leadership Development in Higher Education, Student Affairs Co-curricular Program Development, Critical Race Theory, Black Student Protest and Hashtag Activism in Higher Education, Meaning-making and Multiple Identities in Higher Education, 

McClure

Dr. Kevin R. McClure

mcclurek@uncw.edu 

910-962-7819

Higher Education Administration & Management, Higher Education Policy, Higher Education Finance, Political Economy of Education, the Academic Profession & Doctoral Education, Comparative & International Education

Dr. Wilson K. Okello

okellow@uncw.edu 

910-962-3786

Black feminisms in Education; Critical Perspectives on Student Development Theory; Anti-Blackness in Education Contexts; Anti-deficit Curriculum and Pedagogy

Dr. Symphony Oxendine

oxendines@uncw.edu

910-962-3430

Critical Awareness of the social and institutional issues that affect the educational performance and institutional support of American Indians and other underrepresented groups, Graduate Preparation, Cultural Identity Development, Historically Native American Fraternities and Sororities, Student Involvement

parker

Dr. Michele Parker

parkerma@uncw.edu 

910-962-2292

Research Methods, Non-traditional Students, Mentoring, Technology & Education, Educational Development

Dr. Angelia Reid-Griffin

reidgriffina@uncw.edu 

910-962-3609

Motivating and mentoring youth (Junior Seahawk Academy); Project-based learning; Teaching and Learning Science/STEM; Teacher Shortages - Minority Teacher Shortages; Robotics/Cybersecurity in K-12 education

Dr. Kerry Robinson

robinsonkk@uncw.edu

910-962-3652

Women in Leadership, Superintendency and Leadership Preparation

Dr. Donyell Roseboro

roseborod@uncw.edu 

910-962-3283

African Americans and Education, Black Women Educators, Digital Space and Identity, Democratic Practice and Schools

Ryder

Dr. Andrew Ryder

rydera@uncw.edu 

910-962-7318

Higher Education in Democratic Society, History & Practice of Student Affairs, Community College Completion

Dr. Marilyn Sheerer

sheererm@uncw.edu 

910-962-3389

Gender issues in leadership, Women in Higher Education Leadership, Change in higher education – future directions, Faculty governance issues in higher education, Conflict resolution in higher education, Teacher as Researcher

Dr. Dana Stachowiak

stachowiakd@uncw.edu 

910-962-7806

Dr. William Sterrett

sterrettw@uncw.edu 

910-962-4174

Principal, teacher leadership, STEM leadership, school-university partnerships

Walser

Dr. Tamara M. Walser

walsert@uncw.edu 

910-962-4175

Program Evaluation Methods, Higher Education Assessment, Research Design, Evaluation Capacity Building