Communication Studies


The following scholarships are offered by the Department of Communication Studies. To view previous scholarship winners navigate to Department Showcase or follow this link; Scholarship Winners. Scholarships winners will be announced at the end of each academic year.

To apply for UNCW Scholarships (including the scholarships listed below):

  • Log into mySeaport
  • Select the "Student Services" tab
  • Follow the "Apply for Scholarships" link in the left side column
  • Start the "University Scholarship Application" and make sure you check "Communication Studies" as your major to get our scholarship specific questions.
  • If you need help and support please contact the financial aid office at (910) 962-3177

The application opens December 1 and closes on March 1 

The Dr. Betty Jo Welch Communication Studies Alumni Scholarship

Providing leadership and guidance to those around her is the legacy of the late Dr. Betty Jo Welch, communication studies professor and first coordinator of the Division of Speech Communication (then a part of the Department of Creative Arts). As UNCW's first full-time faculty member in the discipline, Dr. Welch worked at fostering the division development into the present day Department of Communication Studies.

Dr. Welch, a native of Nashville, TN, began her UNCW career in 1970. She was very involved in the university system, serving on and chairing numerous faculty committees. In 1986, Dr. Welch was the first woman elected chair of the UNC Faculty Assembly and presented greetings from the faculties of the 16 constituent campuses at the inauguration of C.D. Spangler, Jr. as system president. Welch was also active in the Wilmington community working with such organizations as the New Hanover County Heart Association, New Hanover Council of PTA, the Wilmington Civic Ballet and St. James Church. She was also a member of the American Business Communication Association, National Association of Parliamentarians, Women in Communications, as well as many other professional associations.

Established November 1996, the Communication Studies Alumni Chapter set, as its first goal, the founding of the Dr. Betty Jo Welch Scholarship Endowment to assist communication studies majors.

The Justin Thompson Communication Studies Scholarship for Enacting Social Change

This endowed scholarship was created by Mark Griffis and Dave Robertson to award students who excel in the area of communication studies. The recipient must have been accepted into the Department of Communication Studies, meet GPA requirements and submit an essay. The scholarship may be awarded to an undergraduate or graduate student and may be applied for multiple times.

The Brian Pearson King Scholarship

This scholarship was established in 2004 in memory of Brian Pearson King, a rising freshman with interest in Communication Studies. It is open to all PCOM students (must be PCOM at time of application) with an overall GPA of 3.0 or higher.

The Davenport Scholarship

This scholarship was created by Van Davenport, a 1995 graduate of COM Studies. Van discovered his talent for direct sales while working as a door-to-door salesmen with Southwestern Advantage during his time at UNCW. He is passionate about helping the COM department to prepare students for successful careers in direct sales and hopes this scholarship will assist students in their journey to discovering their own talents. This scholarship will be used to assist any student pursuing a degree in Communication Studies, however, preference will be given to students with an interest in pursuing a career in sales or advocacy.