Health Care Heroes: student scholarship winners

CHHS Students Recognized as Health Care Heroes Scholarship Award Recipients

Two CHHS students were recognized as Health Care Heroes Scholarship award recipients at the 2016 Health Care Heroes event held Nov. 12.

The winners are Justin Gibson (School of Social Work) and Avery Dominguez (School of Nursing).

The Health Care Heroes Awards Ceremony is an annual celebration bringing together the Wilmington-area medical community and its supporters. One goal of the program is to award scholarships to up-and-coming members of the health care community.

Justin Gibson came to UNCW as a former combat service member of the U.S. Marines and is currently finishing his senior year in the Bachelor of Social Work Program at CHHS.

He is currently engaged in a rigorous program, as well as a practicum as a medical social work intern at Onslow Community Hospital in Jacksonville; however, he still finds time to be active in the campus community and volunteer in his community, all while maintaining an excellent GPA.

Justin serves as the vice president of the Phi Alpha Social Work Honor Society and as historian for the Onslow Student Social Work Organization. He is also involved with the National Association of Social Workers. He learned leadership as a Marine and is passionate about helping others. After graduation he hopes to utilize those skills and his passion to become a change leader in the field of social work.

Avery Dominguez is currently finishing his senior year, working toward his Bachelor of Science in clinical research at CHHS.

Avery’s passion for research began while taking a cell biology class at UNCW, and he sought out opportunities to use that passion to help others through the School of Nursing’s Clinical Research Program. 

He is currently serving simultaneously as the vice president of the Student Association of Clinical Research and as vice president of the Clinical Research Senior Class. Avery works as a clinical trials administrator intern at Chiltern International, Inc., where he has taken on significant responsibilities for the clinical study start-up process. Additionally, he has presented research locally, regionally and nationally, and was a recipient of the George T. Bathalamus undergraduate research grant. He has been a recipient of the SURCA Award and the CSURF Travel Award, and is a member on the CHHS Dean’s List.

After graduation, Avery hopes to become a leader in the field of clinical research.