Faculty and Staff Directory

SHAHS faculty and staff directory

Administration

Steve Elliott

Dr. Steve Elliott
Director & Professor

Veterans Hall 2509-A
910.962.2115
elliotts@uncw.edu

BIO

Nanney_Lindsey

Lindsey Nanney
Associate Director

Veterans Hall 2509-B
910.962.3508
nanneyl@uncw.edu

BIO

Dr. Ashley WellsDr. Ashley Wells
Associate Director for Quality Assurance 

Veterans Hall 2509-M
910.962.2461
wellsa@uncw.edu

BIO

Elaine Mongno
Administrative Associate

mongnoe@uncw.edu 

 

Ashlea Pinkham

Ashlea Pinkham
Administrative Specialist

Veterans Hall 2509-2
910.962.4268
pinkhama@uncw.edu

Athletic Training

Steven Zinder

Dr. Steven Zinder
Associate Professor & Program Coordinator

Veterans Hall 2506-P
910.962.0504
zinders@uncw.edu

BIO

Kirk Brown

Dr. Kirk Brown
Associate Professor

Veterans Hall 3514-K
910.962.7184
brownk@uncw.edu

BIO

Lindsey Schroeder

Dr. Lindsey Schroeder
Associate Professor and Clinical Education Coordinator

Veterans Hall 3514-H
910.962.7188
schroederl@uncw.edu

BIO

Exercise Science

Lisa Sprod

Dr. Lisa Sprod
Associate Professor & Program Coordinator

Veterans Hall 2506-H
910.962.2583
sprodl@uncw.edu

BIO

Barnes_Christian

Christian Barnes
Senior Lecturer

Veterans Hall 3514-D
910.962.7288
barnesc@uncw.edu

BIO

Michel Heijnen

Dr. Michel Heijnen
Assistant Professor

Veterans Hall 3514-B
910.962.7493
heijnenm@uncw.edu

BIO

Lidio Lima de AlbuquerqueDr. Lidio Lima de Albuquerque
Assistant Professor

Veterans Hall 2506-G
910.962.7666
limadeal@uncw.edu

BIO

Alex McDaniel

Dr. Alex McDaniel
Assistant Professor

Veterans Hall 2031-F
910.962.7622
mcdanielat@uncw.edu

BIO

Sarah NolandSarah Noland
Lecturer

Veterans Hall 2031-A
910.962.3768
nolands@uncw.edu

Shields_Tamlyn

Ann (Tamlyn) Shields
Lecturer

Veterans Hall 2031-D
910.962.7964
shieldsa@uncw.edu

BIO

Wayland Tseh

Dr. Wayland Tseh
Professor

Veterans Hall 3514-F
910.962.2484
tsehw@uncw.edu

BIO

Jessica Van Meter

Jessica Van Meter
Lecturer

Veterans Hall 2031-C
910.962.7210
vanmeterj@uncw.edu

BIO

Gerontology

Tina NewshamDr. Tina Newsham
Professor & Program Coordinator

McNeill Hall 2032
910.962.0581
newshamt@uncw.edu

BIO

Dr. Elizabeth Fugate-Whitlock
Senior Lecturer

McNeill Hall 2027
910.962.7816
whitlocke@uncw.edu

BIO

Healthcare Administration

Eric Richardson

Dr. Eric Richardson
Associate Professor and Program Coordinator

Veterans Hall 2525
910.962.0502
richardsone@uncw.edu

BIO

Barb BiehnerBarb Biehner
Clinical Assistant Professor

Veterans Hall 2525
910.962.2587
biehnerb@uncw.edu

Randyl CochranDr. Randyl Cochran

Assistant Professor

Veterans Hall 2525
910.962.2748
cochranr@uncw.edu 

Daniel FisherDr. Daniel Fisher
Assistant Professor

Veterans Hall 2525
910.962.2240
fisherd@uncw.edu

BIO

Richard GinnettiDr. Richard Ginnetti

Assistant Professor of Practice

Veterans Hall 2525
910.962.2749
ginnettir@uncw.edu 

Jean GordonDr. Jean Gordon
Assistant Professor

Veterans Hall 2525
910.962.3911
gordonjn@uncw.edu 

William Opoku-AgyemanDr. William Opoku-Agyeman
Assistant Professor

Veterans Hall 2525
910.962.3569
opoku-agyeman@uncw.edu

BIO

Denise SmithDr. Denise Smith
Assistant Professor

Veterans Hall 2525
910.962.3028
smithe@uncw.edu

Healthful Living and Fitness Education

Huelskamp_Amelia

Dr. Amelia (Kit) Huelskamp
Associate Professor and Program Coordinator

Trask Coliseum 151
910.962.7308
huelskampa@uncw.edu

BIO

Nicholas CastroDr. Nicholas Castro
Assistant Professor

Trask Coliseum 153
910.962.3133
castron@uncw.edu

BIO

Chris MericaDr. Christopher Merica
Assistant Professor

Trask Coliseum 145
910.962.2907
mericac@uncw.edu 

Jordan Webber

Dr. Jordan Weber
Lecturer

Trask Coliseum 146
910.962.7275
weberj@uncw.edu

BIO

Public Health

Michelle CathorallDr. Michelle Cathorall
Associate Professor & Program Coordinator

Veterans Hall 2506-I
910.962.3761
cathorallm@uncw.edu

BIO

Elisabeth Baynard

Elisabeth Baynard
Associate Professo of Practice

Veterans Hall 2031-I
910.962.7704
baynarde@uncw.edu

BIO

Sasha CananDr. Sasha Canan
Assistant Professor

Veterans Hall 2506-J
910.962.3433
canans@uncw.edu

BIO

Catalano_Hannah

Dr. Hannah Catalano
Associate Professor

Veterans Hall 2506-L
910.962.7768
catalanoh@uncw.edu

BIO

Chen_Edinboro_Lenis

Dr. Lenis Chen-Edinboro
Assistant Professor

Veterans Hall 2031-H
910.962.7718
edinborol@uncw.edu

BIO

Sabrina Cherry

Dr. Sabrina Cherry
Associate Professor

Veterans Hall 2031-G
910.962.7135
cherrys@uncw.edu

BIO

Kent Guion

Dr. Kent Guion
Professor

Veterans Hall 2506-P
910.962.3250
guionk@uncw.edu          

Melannie Pate

Dr. Melannie Pate
Lecturer

Veterans Hall 3514-G
910.962.7162
patem@uncw.edu

BIO

Shaila Strayhorn

Dr. Shaila Strayhorn-Carter
Assistant Professor

Veterans Hall 2506-K
910.962.3250
strayhorns@uncw.edu 

BIO

Kerry Whipple

Dr. Kerry Whipple
Associate Professor

Veterans Hall 3514-I
910.962.7453
whipplek@uncw.edu

Tourism, Recreation, & Sport

Franzidis_Alexia

Dr. Alexia Franzidis
Associate Professor & Program Coordinator

Veterans Hall 2506-D
910.962.2268
franzidisa@uncw.edu

BIO

Shelly Myers Hinson

Dr. Shelly Myers Hinson
Lecturer

Veterans Hall 3514-C
910.962.3768
hinsons@uncw.edu

William Hunter Holland

Dr. William Hunter Holland
Assistant Professor

Veterans Hall 2031-B
910.962.0503
hollandw@uncw.edu

BIO

Morris_Laura

Dr. Laura Morris
Assistant Professor

Veterans Hall 2031-E
910.962.2451
morrisl@uncw.edu

BIO

Alana Seaman

Dr. Alana Seaman
Associate Professor

Veterans Hall 3514-E
910.962.7568
seamana@uncw.edu

BIO

Recreation Therapy

Brent HawkinsDr. Brent Hawkins
Associate Professor & Program Coordinator

McNeill Hall 3010
910.962.3717
hawkinsb@uncw.edu

BIO

Ashton_Candy

Dr. Candy Ashton-Forrester
Professor

910.962.3250
ashtonc@uncw.edu

BIO

Cara Gray

Dr. Cara Gray
Assistant Professor

McNeill Hall 3008
910.962.3733
grayc@uncw.edu

BIO

Johnson_Dan

Dr. Dan Johnson
Associate Professor

McNeill Hall 3015
910.962.3659
johnsonde@uncw.edu

BIO

Miller_Sara

Sara Miller
Senior Lecturer

McNeill Hall 3012
910.962.7901
millersm@uncw.edu

BIO | Profile: I Am CHHS

Angela Sardina

Dr. Angela Sardina
Associate Professor

McNeill Hall 3011
910.962.3521
sardinaa@uncw.edu

BIO

Respiratory Therapy

Jamy ChulakJamy Chulak
Clinical Associate Professor & Program Coordinator

Veterans Hall 2506-E
910.962.0572
chulakj@uncw.edu

BIO

Karen BlainKaren Blain
Clinical Assistant Professor

Veterans Hall 2506-R
910.962.3047
blaink@uncw.edu

Tina FrazierTina Frazier
Clinical Assistant Professor

Veterans Hall 2506-Q
910.962.3711
fraziert@uncw.edu

Thomas NietmanThomas Nietman
Clinical Assistant Professor & Director of Clinical Education

Veterans Hall 2506-F
910.962.3443
nietmant@uncw.edu

BIO

Dr. Michelle PediconeDr. Michele Pedicone
Clinical Associate Professor

Veterans Hall 2506-C
910.962.2653
pediconem@uncw.edu

Physical Activity and Wellness (WPA 101)

Amy Olsen

Amy Olsen
Lecturer and Program Coordinator

Trask 149
910.962.2181
olsenad@uncw.edu

BIO

John Lothes

Dr. John Lothes
Lecturer

Trask 148
910.962.2848
lothesj@uncw.edu

BIO

Marsha Todd

Marsha Todd
Senior Lecturer

Trask 150
910.962.7815
toddm@uncw.edu

BIO

Part-time and Emeritus Faculty

Part-Time Faculty - Fall 2022

Elizabeth Abioro abioroe@uncw.edu 
Thomas Bartolotta bartolottat@uncw.edu 
Angila Berni bernia@uncw.edu 
Sarah Brownlee brownlees@uncw.edu 
Landis Bullock bullockw@uncw.edu 
David Calland callandd@uncw.edu 
Davis W. Canady canadyd@uncw.edu 
Nancy Carson carsonn@uncw.edu 
MichaelCatalano catalanom@uncw.edu 
Russell Ciokiewicz ciokiewiczr@uncw.edu 
Dawn Cook cookdr@uncw.edu 
Breyana Davis davisbd@uncw.edu 
Marie Davis davismda@uncw.edu 
Jaimie Davis (Upedgraff) davisju@uncw.edu 
Ryan Enroth enrothr@uncw.edu 
Tiffany Erichsen erichsent@uncw.edu 
Eleanor Erickson ericksone@uncw.edu 
Melissa Flynn flynnm@uncw.edu 
Sheila Fournier-Bonilla fournierbonillas@uncw.edu 
Julie Francis francisj@uncw.edu 
Michealle Gady gadym@uncw.edu 
Sarah Gilbert gilberts@uncw.edu 
Zachary Gilbert gilbertz@uncw.edu 
Jessica Hartmann hartmannj@uncw.edu 
Trent Hayden haydent@uncw.edu 
Kristine Hearld heraldk@uncw.edu 
Kyria L. Henry Whisenhunt henryk@uncw.edu 
Ronda Jantz     jantzr@uncw.edu 
Melinda Johnson johnsonml@uncw.edu 
Kati Joyner joynerk@uncw.edu 
Andrew Jung junga@uncw.edu 
Pamela Kelly     kellyp@uncw.edu 
Jordan Kincaide kincaidej@uncw.edu
Nancy Kippenhan kippenhann@uncw.edu 
Stacy Kuhn (Downar) downars@uncw.edu 
Brooke Lambert lambertb@uncw.edu 
Dr. Leigh Lane lanel@uncw.edu 
LeeAnn Larson larsonl@uncw.edu 
James Lineberger linebergerj@uncw.edu 
Leah Mayo mayom@uncw.edu 
Rachael McLoud-Brophy mcloudr@uncw.edu 
James Mirabella mirabellaj@uncw.edu 
Bailey Moore moorebm@uncw.edu 
Haley Norris norrish@uncw.edu 
Hans Olsen olsenh@uncw.edu 
Cassie Parker parkercf@uncw.edu 
Bianca Roels roelsb@uncw.edu 
Jonathan Sanchez jas9448@uncw.edu 
John (JJ) Schmidt schmidtj@uncw.edu 
Sheri Shaw shaws@uncw.edu 
Laura Siljander siljanderl@uncw.edu 
Emily Smith smithe@uncw.edu 
Holly Smith smithhs@uncw.edu 
Perry Smith smithpw@uncw.edu 
Gregory Spahr spahrg@uncw.edu 
Chelsea Stant  stantc@uncw.edu 
Carla Stebbins stebbinsc@uncw.edu 
Jason (Jay) Stempin stempinj@uncw.edu 
Phillip Stott stottp@uncw.edu  
Allison Talley talleya@uncw.edu  
Trisha Tinney tinneyt@uncw.edu 
Patricia Toro Salas torosalasp@uncw.edu 
Olivier Van Dierdonck vandierdoncko@uncw.edu 
Jessica Van Hulst vanhulstj@uncw.edu 
John Ware warej@uncw.edu 
Dr. Douglas Whitman  whitmand@uncw.edu 
Susan Winebrake winebrakes@uncw.edu 
Andrew Zeldin zeldina@uncw.edu 

Emeritus Faculty

  • John P. Bennett, Ed.D., Professor of Physical Education
  • Robert W. Boyce, Ph.D., Associate Professor Emeritus of Exercise Science
  • Sue Combs, Ph.D., Professor Emerita of Physical Education and Health
  • Eleanor Krassen Covan, Ph.D., Professor Emerita of Gerontology and Sociology
  • Darwin Dennison, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus of Public Health Studies
  • Deborah Dowd, Ed.D., Associate Professor Emeritus of Exercise Science
  • Jorge Figueroa, Ph.D., Lecturer Emeritus of Public Health
  • James H. Herstine, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus of Recreation, Sports Leadership and Tourism Management
  • Walter B. (Terry) Kinney, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus of Health and Applied Human Sciences
  • Charles A. Lewis, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus of Health and Applied Human Sciences
  • Judith B. Lewis, M.Ed., Assistant Professor Emerita of Physical Education
  • David K. Miller, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus of Health and Applied Human Sciences
  • David E. Warner, M.Ed., Associate Professor Emeritus of Health, Physical Education and Recreation