UNC Wilmington Office of the Chancellor uncw.edu
Archives | View in Browser
Chancellor Sartarelli

May 2018

Message from Chancellor Jose V. Sartarelli

Dear Seahawk Community,

UNCW marked the end of its 70th anniversary year with joyous commencement celebrations for the Class of 2018 and a heartfelt goodbye to a generous and dedicated Seahawk, the late Herbert T. Fisher ’53. With more than 2,600 graduates in the Class of 2018, we hosted five commencement ceremonies for the first time in UNCW history. UNC President Margaret Spellings joined us on campus to present an honorary doctorate to Hannah Dawson Gage, a Wilmington business leader and higher education advocate who formerly served as chair of the UNC Board of Governors.

The BOG approved a new Bachelor of Arts in Interdisciplinary Studies for UNCW students. The university also received approval for $6.9 million in pre-planning funds to support development of a new student residential complex

College of Arts and Sciences Dean Aswani Volety was tapped to participate in the Millennium Leadership Initiative Institute. Biology and Marine Biology Professor Joe Pawlik and Boston Dang ’18 won the national “Ocean 180 Video Challenge” for Coral Reef Rescue: Save the Parrotfishes! UNCW’s literary magazine, Ecotone, is a finalist for a Community of Literary Magazines and Presses Firecracker Award.

Four faculty members – Larry Usilton, Walter Conser, Chris Fonvielle and Earl Sheridan – were presented with the Order of the Long Leaf Pine Award, the highest honor a North Carolina governor can bestow, for their significant contributions to the state and our community. Robin Smith ’18 earned the university’s Hoggard Medal for Achievement, named for John T. Hoggard, a founder and former President of Wilmington College.

Five student-athletes from UNCW’s two-time Colonial Athletic Association men’s tennis championship team earned All-CAA honors and Coach Matt DuBois was selected as CAA Coach of the Year for the second straight year; he’s earned the honor six times overall. Men’s golf Coach Daniel Bowden was also named CAA Coach of the Year, and two Seahawk golfers earned first-team All-CAA honors. UNCW’s baseball team won the CAA Championship for the fifth time in program history. Way to go, Seahawks! 

Congratulations to these students, faculty and staff for highlighting the commitment to excellence that has inspired generations of Seahawks to pursue their dreams and give back to their communities.

 Go Seahawks!


Jose V. Sartarelli

Top photo: Hannah Dawson Gage (center), with Chancellor Sartarelli and UNC System President Margaret Spellings, was awarded an honorary doctorate at the May commencement ceremonies. Gage, a Wilmington broadcasting executive and higher education advocate, served as chair of the University of North Carolina Board of Governors and the UNCW Board of Trustees.


Four recently retired or retiring UNCW professors were awarded the Order of the Long Leaf Pine Award, the highest honor a North Carolina governor can bestow. Above, Wilmington Mayor Bill Saffo '83 (left) presented the honor to retired public and international affairs professor and former city councilman Earl Sheridan.


Retiring professors (left to right) Larry Usilton, Walter Conser and Chris Fonvielle were presented with Order of the Long Leaf Pine Awards at the history department's graduation exercise. Usilton and Fonvielle are history professors; Conser is a professor of philosophy and religion.


Chancellor Sartarelli addressed some of UNCW's global partners during a campus visit hosted by the Office of International Programs.

Senior Toast

Chancellor Sartarelli welcomed members of the Class of 2018 during the "Senior Toast," a reception honoring graduating student-donors who participated in the "Chancellor's Challenge."


Chancellor Sartarelli met with faculty members from UNCW partner universities as part of the TransAtlantic Business School Alliance conference, held at the Cameron School of Business. TABSA brings students from European universities to UNCW.

Robin Smith '18

Robin Smith '18, B.A. in Social Work, Hoggard Medal Recipient

Madison Lewis '18M

Madison Lewis '18M, M.S. in Applied Gerontology

Titus Adeleke '11

Titus Adeleke '11, Assistant Dean of Students

 BriAuna Daye ’18

BriAuna Daye ’18, Political Science and International Studies

Bruce Hernandez '18

Bruce Hernandez '18, B.S. in Exercise Science

Bethany Martin '18

Bethany Martin '18, Elementary Education (ESL Focus), Spanish Minor

UNC Wilmington | 601 S. College Road, Wilmington, NC 28403 | 910.962.3000