UNC Wilmington Office of the Chancellor uncw.edu
Archives | View in Browser
Chancellor Sartarelli

September 2017

Message from Chancellor Jose V. Sartarelli

Dear Seahawk Community,

In September, UNCW kicked off its 70th anniversary celebration, set an enrollment record with nearly 16,500 students and achieved great recognition from U.S. News & World Report. Not a bad start to the year!

UNCW’s commitment to excellence continues to shine. The university’s emphasis on student-focused education contributed to a two-place gain in the U.S. News & World Report rankings of both the Best Regional Universities (#14) and Best Colleges for Veterans (#9) in the south. The online master’s degree in history program also was ranked 1st nationally by two organizations.

Our amazing faculty and staff continued to collect accolades, as you will see from the headlines at the right. Congratulations to Dylan McNamara, who was awarded a $1.5 million National Science Foundation grant to research the future of coastal communities, and Bill McLellan, who is nominated for the 2018 Indianapolis Prize for animal conservation.

We welcomed alumnus David Congdon ’78, vice chairman and CEO of Old Dominion Freight Line, to share his thoughts on leadership as the first speaker in the 2017-18 Chancellor’s Distinguished Lecture Series.

Seahawk Saturday introduced prospective students to UNCW, and concurrent events showcased the Center for Marine Science and the Watson College of Education's S.T.E.A.M. Celebration of science, technology, engineering, the arts and mathematics (above). UNCW Presents announced a great dance collaboration with Cape Fear Community College and the Thalian Association.

Congratulations to the UNCW men’s soccer team, which has maintained its top 25 ranking in the major Division I polls, including #9 in the Soccer America Men’s College Top 25, and to freshman midfielder Molly McGarry, who was named CAA Women’s Soccer Rookie of the Week for two consecutive weeks in September.

Go, Seahawks!

a signature

Jose V. Sartarelli

MacKain BOT Teaching Award 2017

Chancellor Sartarelli and Provost Marilyn Sheerer (right) congratulated psychology professor Sally MacKain (center), the 2017 recipient of the UNCW Board of Trustees Teaching Excellence Award and a Distinguished Teaching Professorship Award. The awards were presented at the fall faculty meeting, which honored a dozen faculty members for excellence in teaching and scholarship.

Honors College 2017

Chancellor Sartarelli enjoyed interacting with Honors College students during a Q&A session, followed by a group photo in the Amphitheatre.


David Congdon '78 (right) reminisced with fellow alumnus Robert Keith '78 (center) and their former management professor Stephen Harper (left) during the Chancellor's Distinguished Lecture Series. Congdon, vice chairman and CEO of Old Dominion Freight Line, opened the 2017-18 lecture series with a speech about the evolution of his family-owned business, which was founded in 1934.


John Morrison (center), professor of physics and physical oceanography, was congratulated by Panda Powell, director of Sponsored Programs and Research Compliance (left), and Associate Provost for Research Ron Vetter (right) on his induction into the Five Million Dollar Club. Morrison was one of a number of faculty scholars honored at the 2017 Research Recognition Reception.


UNCW alumni and family members who are current UNCW students participated in the Legacy Pinning Ceremony, a cherished tradition of Family and Alumni Weekend.


Seahawks Coach C.B. McGrath's former boss, UNC-Chapel Hill Coach Roy Williams, was the featured speaker at the UNCW Basketball Tip-Off Dinner.


Chancellor Sartarelli is pictured with the nominees for the UNCW Staff Award for Excellence. Nate Miner, second from right, received the 2017 award. He is also one of UNCW's nominees for the Governor's Award of Excellence.


Wilmington Mayor Bill Saffo '83 (left) presented Chancellor Sartarelli with a proclamation designating Sept. 4, 2017 as "The University of North Carolina Wilmington 70th Anniversary Day.” Read the proclamation on the 70th Anniversary website.

Ottillie Mensah '19

Ottillie Mensah '19, President, Student Government Association

Stephen Harper

Stephen Harper, Duke Energy/Betty Cameron Distinguished Professor of Entrepreneurship

Colleen Opalka

Colleen Opalka, UNC Staff Assembly Scholarship Recipient

Kara Yopak

Kara Yopak, Assistant Professor, Department of Biology and Marine Biology

Larry Usilton

Larry Usilton, Professor of History

Leanne Prete '12M

Leanne Prete '12M, Research Compliance Manager

UNC Wilmington | 601 S. College Road, Wilmington, NC 28403 | 910.962.3000