Arts at UNCW

Sphinx Virtuosi

Sphinx Virtuosi

The Sphinx Virtuosi is one of the nation’s most dynamic professional chamber orchestras. Comprised of 18 of the nation’s top Black and Latino classical soloists, these alumni of the internationally renowned Sphinx Competition come together each fall as cultural ambassadors to reach new audiences. This unique self-conducted ensemble earned rave reviews from The NewYork Times during its highly acclaimed debut at Carnegie Hall in December 2004. Allan Kozinn described their performance as “first-rate in every way” and “the ensemble produced a more beautiful, precise and carefully shaped sound than some fully professional orchestras that come through Carnegie Hall in the course of the year.”

Inspired by Sphinx’s overarching mission, the Sphinx Virtuosi works to advance diversity in classical music while engaging young and new audiences through performances of varied repertoire.

Concerti per Venti 

In celebration of the 20th anniversary of the Sphinx Organization, the 18-members of the self-conducted Sphinx Virtuosi string orchestra performs an exciting collection of concerti through the ages. The program showcases a variety in languages and styles from the 17th century Baroque to contemporary music.  Repertoire includes the newly commissioned Guardian of the Horizon: Concerto Grosso for Violin, Cello, and Strings by award-winning composer Jimmy Lopez, made possible in part with the support of Linda and Stuart Nelson; Delights and Dances by Michael Abels, a three-movement work for string quartet and string orchestra (commissioned by Sphinx in 2012), Concerto Grosso by Vaughan Williams and Beethoven’s timeless Grosse Fugue.

Antonio Vivaldi: Concerto for Violin and Cello in B-Flat Major (RV 547)
Ludwig van Beethoven: Grosse Fuge (Op. 133)
Ralph Vaughan Williams: Concerto Grosso
Michael Abels: Delights & Dances
Jimmy López: Guardian of the Horizon: Concerto Grosso for Violin, Cello and Strings
+2017 Premiere
+Commissioned for the Sphinx Virtuosi in honor of Sphinx’s 20th Celebration
+Features Ade Williams, violin and Gabriel Cabezas, cello as soloists