Apply Today!

Students in Washington, DC.

It's a life experience!

uncw office of
international programs

We are located in:
118 Friday Annex

Mailing Address:
Maike Walbrecht, Director
UNCW ESL Program
Office of International Programs
601 S. College Rd.
Wilmington, NC 28403-5965

Contact Us:
Phone: 910-962-7354
Fax: 910-962-4053
Email: walbrechtm@uncw.edu

 

Follow us

facebook icon

 

Statue of Liberty at sunset

ESL Events

Fall 2014 Schedule of Events

August 20, Wednesday

10:00 a.m.: Orientation

August 21, Thursday

9:30 a.m.: Classes Begin

August 22, Friday

10:00 a.m.: Optional shopping trip

1:00 p.m.: Field Trip: Downtown Wilmington and Independence Mall

August 28, Thursday

6:30 p.m.: Welcome Dinner in Madeline Suite - Meet your conversation partners for the first time!

August 29, Friday

9:45 a.m.: Field Trip: Wrightsville Beach

September 1, Monday

Labor Day! NO CLASSES

September 2, Tuesday

4:00 p.m.: Sister City Reception - Meet Wilmington's Mayor and learn about Wilmington's history or attend a City Council Meeting

September 3, Wednesday

12:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m.: Involvement Carnival

8:00 p.m.: ISO Meeting

September 5, Friday

8:00 a.m.: Field Trip: Public School Visits

September 6, Saturday

Color Me Rad - Optional UNCW Event ($50)

September 12, Friday 9:30 a.m.: Field Trip: Southport: Ferry ride to local fishing village
September 15 - 17 Osaka Group School Visits/Observations
September 17, Wednesday Graduation for 4-week program
September 18, Thursday Osaka students depart for Japan
September 20, Saturday 11:00 a.m.: Field Trip: Fort Fisher Aquarium
October 3, Friday Field Trip: Paint & Play or Serpentarium
October 13 - 14 Fall Break, NO CLASSES
October 15, Wednesday Classes Resume
October 22, Wednesday

3:00 p.m.: Culture Shock Presentation, FA 136

October 24, Friday 1:30 p.m.: Field Trip: Ice Skating
October 29 Halloween Party with Conversation Partners!
October 31, Friday Field Trip or Service Learning: Preschool or Surfrider Event
November 2, Sunday Daylight Savings Time ends
November 8, Saturday Service Learning: Habitat for Humanity
November 14, Friday Service Learning: Senior Center Play Performance & Crafts
November 22, Saturday Last Field Trip: Student Choice
November 26 - 27 Thanksgiving Break, NO CLASSES
December 1, Monday Classes Resume
December 4, Thursday Testing & Evaluations
December 5, Friday 2:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.: Graduation

 

 


UNC Wilmington | 601 S. College Road, Wilmington NC 28403 | 910.962.3000 | About this Site | Copyright Notice | Feedback | Page maintained by:  M. Walbrecht [ walbrechtm AT uncw DOT edu ]