Scholarships, awards new, simplified form

Need a financial boost? Tired of fighting with computer forms that leave you hanging? To apply for a department award, please click here. Fill out, print out, and you're in the running for any of several scholarships and awards.

Application deadline is April 1; final decisions are made by May 30.

Sigma advisor honored

Lecturer Ashley Bissette Sumerel was honored in the fall by the Sigma Tau Delta International English Honor Society for her 5 years of excellence in her work as a sponsor for the UNCW chapter, Alpha Alpha Upsilon.

Interested in joining? Click here.


wentworth travel

Want to see England the way Jane Austen saw it? You can -- if you are awarded one of the dozen or so fellowships that Mr. Charles F.Green III provides. details are here.



Your first step to getting a Wentworth is to figure out what author or literary figure you'd like to follow. And then fill out the form on this page.

Want to see where others have gone before? The complete list is here.

go global

Paris, London, Madrid, Rome – and beyond – all begin with a visit to International Programs. Figure out where you want to go, and follow the step-by-step directions to get there.

English in Action Showcase

Want to get a sampling of what other students have accomplished in their classes? Take a look.

Winners and attendees at the 2016 Student Media awards dinner in April. - Photo by Shirley Mathews

(L-r, back row) Robert Manion, Samantha Lavin (current editor-in-chief of The Seahawk), Hannah G. Williams, Helen Rogalski, Malia Benison and Noah Thomas. Front row, l-r, Casey McAnarney (incoming editor-in-chief of The Seahawk), Casey Auch and Kinnamon Hunt. These budding journalists attended the 17th Annual Student Media Awards Dinner in April 2016. Students were recognized for their work on The Seahawk, Atlantis magazine, Hawkstream Radio and TealTV.

– Photo by Shirley Mathews  

Awards and Honors

Scholarships and Awards

The Department of English sponsors a number of scholarships, including:

The Michael D. Wentworth Student Travel Fellowship

The fellowship fund, the gift of Mr. Charles F. Green III, provides around $23,000 annually to allow a select number of students to travel to sites, in America or abroad, associated with their favorite writers and works of literature.

Important Dates:

Informational Meeting: TBA
Upcoming Wentworth Fellowship Application Deadline: TBA
Wentworth Fellowship Presentation: TBA.

Application (opens as Word .docx document)

List of previous Wentworth Fellows

Contact Information:
Direct all questions about the Wentworth Fellowship to committee chair:

Dr. Alex Porco

Find out more about about Wentworth Fellowships.

Academic Scholarships

Applications for academic scholarships: The English Department uses a single application for all of its scholarships, which you can access here. the deadline is April 1; final decisions will be made by May 30.

The Louise Jackson Green Scholarship

This scholarship is awarded to an English major based on merit as a first priority, with exemplary moral character and leadership potential serving as secondary considerations. The student must be a formally declared English major with a concentration in literary studies and must be a rising junior or senior.
The award was established in 1999 by Charles L. Green III in honor of his mother.
List of Louise Jackson Green Scholarship recipients.

The Anne Green Saus Scholarship

Sigma Tau Delta advisor Ashley Sumerel presents Chapter President Caitlin Willow with the chapter of the year award. - Photo by Rory Laverty

This scholarship is awarded annually to an English major with a concentration in literary studies or professional writing.

The scholarship will be awarded with merit as the first consideration and need (confirmed through the financial aid office) as a secondary consideration. The scholarship will be valued at the in-state tuition and fee rate in effect at the time of award plus a $200 book allowance.

The award was established in 1992 by Charles L. Green III in honor of his aunt.
List of Anne Green Saus Scholarship recipients.

The Sally Sullivan Scholarship

The recipient of this merit scholarship will be selected on demonstrated academic ability and will be given to an English major who is a
non-traditional student and also a single parent.

The award was established in 2008 by Sally Sullivan, a former English professor who retired in 2000, to recognize the needs of single parents.

The Gerald S. Rosselot Scholarship

The recipient of this merit scholarship will be selected on demonstrated academic ability and special achievement. Financial need will be a secondary consideration. The recipient will be a senior majoring in a degree program offered by the Department of English.

The award was established in 2012 by Nancy Rosselot, in memory of her husband, who was a professor in the English Department until his retirement in 1990.

The University Bookstore Scholarship

This scholarship is awarded to two English majors at $125 each, to be used for textbooks and supplies at the University Bookstore.

Contests and Awards

Jo Ann Seiple Composition Essay Contest

First place winners in each of four categories receive a $100 gift card to a place of their choice; runners-up receive a $50 gift card. Collaboratively authored projects are eligible; winners will split the proceeds among the group. Categories include personal essay, rhetorical analysis, researched persuasive or argumentative paper, and multi-modal essay. All essays are due April 14, 2017, but may be submitted at any time during the school year before that date.

Please submit your essay by uploading it to this Dropbox account (, with your name, email address, Jean Im won second in the 2015 Jo Ann Seiple Composition Contest. - Photo by Rory Lavertyinstructor, and preferred submission category at the top of the first page. Use "composition" as your password. In addition, make sure to complete our release form and submit it to your composition instructor or to Dr. Hallenbeck in Morton Hall room 160.

Photo at left: Jean Im shows her certificate for winning second in the Jo Ann Seiple Composition Essay Contest.
- Photo by Rory Laverty

In addition to cash prizes, all winners will be recognized at the Spring English in Action Showcase and published, with their permission, in the UNCW Composition Guidebook for the next school year.

Each student is limited to two submissions per school year, and all submissions must involve work done for composition classes during the 2015-2016 school year or during the preceding summer.

Who's eligible? Students in English 100, 101, 103, 200 or 201.

Deadline for applying: April 15

The Outstanding Graduating English Major Award

Awarded at spring graduation each year, English faculty choose a graduating major who, in their judgment, has worked hardest for the betterment of the department, its majors, and him or herself.

The Outstanding Graduate Student Award

Awarded at spring graduation each year, English graduate faculty choose a graduate student who, in their judgment, has worked hardest for the betterment of the department, its graduate students, and him or herself .



UNC Wilmington | 601 S. College Road, Wilmington NC 28403 | 910.962.3000 | About this Site | Copyright Notice | Feedback | Page maintained by:  S. Mathews [ mathewss AT uncw DOT edu ]