School of Nursing

Faculty and Staff

Administration

Laurie Badzek, LLM, JD, MS, RN, FAAN

Director and Professor

(910) 962-7410 badzekl@uncw.edu

Nancy R. Ahern, PhD, RN

Interim Associate Director for Undergraduate Program

(910) 962-2627 ahernn@uncw.edu

Linda G. Haddad, PhD, RN, FAAN

Professor & Associate Director for Graduate Program

(910) 962-2253 haddadl@uncw.edu

Distinguished Professorships

Barbara J. Lutz, PhD, RN, CRRN, APHN-BC, FAHA, FNAP, FAAN

Professor, McNeill Distinguished Professor

(910) 962-2921 lutzb@uncw.edu

Program/Office Coordinators

Nursing

Debra A. Hrelic, PhD, RNC

RN-BSN Program Coordinator and Assistant Professor

(910) 962-7325 hrelicd@uncw.edu

RuthAnne Kuiper, PhD, RN, CNE, ANEF

MSN-NE Program Coordinator

(910) 962-3343 kuiperr@uncw.edu

Brandy Mechling, PhD, RN, PMHCNS-B

Prelicensure Program Coordinator

(910) 962-7292 mechlingb@uncw.edu

Linda C. Pugh, PhD, RNC, FAAN

DNP Program Coordinator

(910) 962-7296 pughl@uncw.edu

Micah A. Scott, PhD, FNP-BC

MSN/FNP Program Coordinator

(910) 962-7534 scottmi@uncw.edu

Clinical Research

Barbara Pennington, MS, RN

Coordinator

(910) 962-3640 penningtonb@uncw.edu

Jim Lyon, Pharm.D

Graduate Program Coordinator

(910) 962-2936 lyonj@uncw.edu

Simulation Learning Center

Robin Cunningham, MSN, RN, LNCC, CNE, CHSE

Coordinator Simulation Learning Center

(910) 962-3201 cunninghamr@uncw.edu

Office of Student Success

Sheri N. Shaw, M.Ed

Assistant Dean of Student Success

(910) 962-7603 shaws@uncw.edu

Mark Werbeach, MS, BA

Interim Coordinator of Student Success

(910) 962-3208 werbeach@uncw.edu

Full-Time Faculty

Nancy R. Ahern, PhD, RN

Associate Professor

(910) 962-2627 ahernn@uncw.edu

Omar Alzaghari, PhD, MSN, RN

Assistant Professor

(910) 962-7969 alzaghario@uncw.edu

Jane Anderson, DNP, RN, G-CNS-BC, CNE

Lecturer

(910) 962-7608 andersonj@uncw.edu

Tamatha Arms, DNP, PMHNP-BC, NP-C

Assistant Professor

(910) 962-7192 armst@uncw.edu

Mitzi C.Averette, MSN, RN, CNE, CHSE

Lecturer

(910) 962-7041

averettem@uncw.edu

Paula Baisden, MSN, PMHRN-BC

Lecturer

(910) 962-2225 baisdenp@uncw.edu

April A. Bice, PhD, CPNP, RN

Assistant Professor

(910) 962-2594 bicea@uncw.edu

Traci Bramlett, DNP, RN, FNP-C

Assistant Professor

(910) 962-3773 bramlettt@uncw.edu

Lolita Bryant, MSN-NE, RN

Lecturer

(910) 962-3015 bryantl@uncw.edu

Tawny Burgess, DNP, PMHNP-BC, FNP-BC

Lecturer

(910) 962-2225 burgesst@uncw.edu

Jeeyae Choi, PhD, RN

Associate Professor

(910) 962-2487 choij@uncw.edu

Clydie Coward-Murrell, MSN, BSN, RN

Lecturer

(910) 962-2250 cowardmc@uncw.edu

Robin Cunningham, MSN, RN, LNCC, CNE

Lecturer, Simulation Learning Center Coordinator

(910) 962-3201 cunninghamr@uncw.edu

B. Suzy Diggle, PhD, GNP, ANP, B-C

Assistant Professor

(910) 962-3559 digglefoxb@uncw.edu

Crystal Dodson, PhD, RN, MSN, BC-ADM

Assistant Professor

(910) 962-7877 dodsonc@uncw.edu
Kelly Ellington, DNP, APRN, WHNP-BC, RNC-OB (910) 962-2005 ellingtonk@uncw.edu

Jane A. Fox, EdD, APRN, PNP-BC, FAANP

Professor

(910) 962-3206 foxj@uncw.edu

Matthew J. Gallek, PhD, RN, CNRN

Associate Profosser

(910) 962-7647 gallekm@uncw.edu

Elizabeth A. Gazza, PhD, RN, LCCE, FACCE

Associate Professor

(910) 962-7097 gazzae@uncw.edu

Susan Glose, PhD,ANP-BC

Assistant Professor

(910) 962-7820 gloses@uncw.edu

Nancy M. Grant, MSN, CCRN, RN

Lecturer

(910) 962-3204 grantn@uncw.edu
Kellie M. Griggs, DNP, MSN, RNC-OB (910) 962-7628 griggsk@uncw.edu

Martha Hepler, MSN/ED, RN CHSE

Lecturer

(910) 962-7112 heplerm@uncw.edu

Debra A. Hrelic, PhD, RNC

Assistant Professor

(910) 962-7325

hrelicd@uncw.edu

Carol Highsmith, MPA, RN

Lecturer

(910) 962-2039

highsmithc@uncw.edu

Julie F. Hinkle, PhD, RN, CNE

Assistant Professor

(910) 962-3784

hinklej@uncw.edu

Denise Isibel, DNP, RN, CNE

Associate Professor

(910) 962-7215

isibeld@uncw.edu

Amanda G. Jeffries, MSN, RN

Lecturer

(910) 962-7793

jeffriesa@uncw.edu

Carolyn W. Jones, PhD, RN, NNP-BC

Assistant Professor

(910) 962-3207 jonescw@uncw.edu

Jared G. Kerr, BS, MPH, JD

Assistant Professor

(910) 962-7404 kerrj@uncw.edu

Yeoun Soo Kim-Godwin, PhD, MPH, CNE, RN

Professor

(910) 962-3926 kimy@uncw.edu

RuthAnne Kuiper, PhD, RN, CNE, ANEF

Professor

(910) 962-3343 kuiperr@uncw.edu

Kelly B. Laham, MSN, RN, ANP-BC, CNE

Lecturer

(910) 962-2386 lahamk@uncw.edu

Sarah Lawson, PhD, RN

Associate Professor

(910) 962-4284 lawsons@uncw.edu

Meen Hye Lee, PhD, RN

Assistant Professor

(910) 962-2402 leemn@uncw.edu

Tamara Link, DNP, FNP-BC

Assistant Professor

(910) 962-3784 linkt@uncw.edu

Barbara J. Lutz, PhD, RN, CRRN, APHN-BC, FAHA, FNAP, FAAN

Professor, McNeill Distinguished Professor

(910) 962-2921 lutzb@uncw.edu

James Lyon, PharmD, FCCP

Lecturer

(910) 962-2936 lyonj@uncw.edu

April D. Matthias, PhD, RN, CNE

Associate Professor

(910) 962-3481 matthiasa@uncw.edu

Michelle McEwen-Campbell, DNP,MSN, RNC-OB-FNP, LNC, CNE

Lecturer

(910) 962-2038 mcewenm@uncw.edu

Jennifer R. McCall, PhD, MBA

Assistant Professor

(910) mcalljr@uncw.edu

Cheryl McFaden, RN, BC, MSN, MED, CNE, CHSE

Simulation Learning Center Associate

(910) 962-2769 mcfadenc@uncw.edu

Brandy Mechling, PhD, RN, PMHCNS-B

Assistant Professor

(910) 962-7292 mechlingb@uncw.edu

Kathleen E. Molden, MSN, RN, CNE

Lecturer

(910) 962-7553 moldenk@uncw.edu

Nancy Murdock, MSN, RNC, CNS

Lecturer

(910) 962-3862 murdockn@uncw.edu

Ruthanne Palumbo, DNP, RN, CNE

Assistant Professor

(910) 962-7969 palumbor@uncw.edu

Diane L. Parker, MSN, FNP-C

Graduate Clinical Coordinator/Lecturer

(910) 962-7148 Parkerdl@uncw.edu

Diane K. Pastor, PhD, MBA, NP-C, FNAP

Associate Professor

(910) 962-3482 pastord@uncw.edu

Barbara Pennington, MS, RN

Lecturer

(910) 962-3640 penningtonb@uncw.edu

Annemarie Petroff, MS

Lecturer

(910) 962-3981 petroffa@uncw.edu

Linda C. Pugh, PhD, RNC, FAAN

Professor

(910) 962-7296 pughl@uncw.edu

Melissa Reedy, MSNEd, RN, NCSN

Lecturer

(910) 962-7068 reedym@uncw.edu

Paula Reid, PhD, RNC, WHNP

Associate Professor

(910) 962-2340 reidp@uncw.edu

Scott J. Saccomano, PhD, RN, GNP-BC

Assistant Professor

(910) 962-7055 saccomanos@uncw.edu

Penny Sauer, PhD, RN, CCRN, CNE

Assistant Professor

(910) 962-2768 sauerp@uncw.edu

Melissa D. Scott, PhD, RN

Prelicensure Clinical Instructor, Lecturer RN-BSN Program

(910)-962-7657 scottmd@uncw.edu

Micah A. Scott, PhD, FNP-BC

Assistant Professor

(910) 962-7534 scottmi@uncw.edu

Lorie Sigmon, DNP, RN, FNP

Assistant Professor

(910) 962-2598 sigmonl@uncw.edu

Christy Simmerman, MSN, RN

Lecturer

(910) 962-7588 simmermanc@uncw.edu

Susan Sinclair, PhD, MPH, RN

Professor

(910) 962-3802 sinclairs@uncw.edu

Stephanie D. Smith, PhD, RN

Assistant Professor
(910) 962-4222 smithsd@uncw.edu

C. Elise Thompson, PhD, MSN, RN

Lecturer

(910) 962-7428 thompsonce@uncw.edu

Stephanie Turrise, PhD, RN, BC, APRN, CNE

Assistant Professor

(910) 962-3210 turrises@uncw.edu

Patty White, MSN, RNC, CNE

Lecturer

(910) 962-2645 whitep@uncw.edu

Heidi Winslow, MSN, RN

Lecturer

(910) 962-7740 winslowh@uncw.edu

Margaret Verzella, MSN, RN, CEN, CNE

Lecturer and Undergraduate Clinical Coordinator

(910) 962-4220 verzellam@uncw.edu

Part-Time Faculty

Blaise Bolan, MSN, RN

Lecturer

bolanb@uncw.edu

Deborah Lee Covington, DrPH, MS

Lecturer

covingtond@uncw.edu

Carol Heinrich, PhD, APRN, CNE

Associate Professor

heinrichc@uncw.edu

Kay Kanoy, MSN, RN

Lecturer

kanoyk@uncw.edu

William Kenne Mountford, PhD

Lecturer

mountfordw@uncw.edu

Val Tarte, MSN, RN

Lecturer

tartev@uncw.edu

Mary Ann Turner, MSN, RN, CEN

Lecturer

turnerma@uncw.edu

Anita Williams, PharmD., BCPS

Lecturer

williamsa@uncw.edu

Nina D. Williams, MSN-NE, RN

Clinical Lecturer

williamsnd@uncw.edu

Elizabeth K. Woodard, PhD, RN (Betty)

woodarde@uncw.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Peri Bomar, PhD, RN, Professor Emeritus of Nursing

bomarp@uncw.edu
Bettie J. Glenn, EdD, RN, Associate Professor Emeritus of Nursing glennb@uncw.edu
Jeanne K. Kemppainen, PhD, RN Professor Emeritus of Nursing kemppainenj@uncw.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Claudia Campese, MSN, RN, CNOR, BC
Gail Marcus, MEd, CGC
Ann Quinlan-Colwell, PhD, RNC, AH, BC, FAAPM
David Sommerfield, MSN, RN, NP-C, CNOR, RNFA
Keven Smeekens, MSN, FNP
Julie Smith Taylor, PhD, RN, WHNP-BC

Staff

Jonia Smith

Administrative Specialist

(910) 962-7410 smithja@uncw.edu

Debra Simpson

Executive Assistant

(910) 962-3784 simpsond@uncw.edu

Diane Bomba

Administrative Associate

(910) 962-3200

bombad@uncw.edu

Barbara Snyder

Simulation Lab Assistant

(910) 962-2924 snyderb@uncw.edu

Faculty/Staff Resources

University Resources
Permission to Enroll Undergraduate Directed Individual Study Request for Course Waiver or Substitution
Request to Allow Class Time Conflict

ITSD Live Support

University Calendar of Events UNCW Reproduction of Copyrighted Books & Materials