Sociology and Criminology

Sociology and Criminology Faculty & Staff

bingham-0008-2.jpg

Bingham, Shawn 

Shawn Bingham, Ph.D. 
Associate Professor of Sociology 
Director/Associate Dean
Honors College

Office: Randall Library 2007C
Phone: 910.962.7868
Email: binghams@uncw.edu

Babette Boyd

Boyd, Babette

Babette Boyd, J.D.
Senior Lecturer of Criminology 

Office: BR 232
Phone: 910.962.3049
Email: boydb@uncw.edu

buffington-my-photo-from-2020.jpg

Buffington, Daniel

Daniel Buffington, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Sociology

Office: BR 122
910.962.3420 or 962.3432
Email: buffingtond@uncw.edu

Cook_Kimiberly-0006-2-2.jpg

Cook, Kimberly J.

Kimberly Cook, Ph.D.
Professor of Sociology and Criminology

Office: BR 228
Phone: 910.962.3785
Email: cookk@uncw.edu

 

Day.jpg

Day, Jacob C.

Jacob C. Day, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Criminology

Graduate Program Director
Criminology Internship Coordinator

Office: BR 224
Phone: 910.962.7024
Email: dayj@uncw.edu

DeVall_Kristen-0015-Edit-2.jpg

DeVall, Kristen

Kristen DeVall, Ph.D.
Professor of Sociology

Office: BR 128
910.962.3420 or 962.3432
Email: devallk@uncw.edu

Elliot_Shane-0013.jpg

Elliott, Christopher Shane 

Christopher Shane Elliott, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Sociology

Undergraduate Program Coordinator: Sociology 

Office: BR 121
Phone: 202.6824 (Skype)
Email:elliottc@uncw.edu

douglas-engeelman.png

Engelman, Douglas J.

Douglas J. Engelman, Ph.D.
Visiting Assistant Professor of Sociology

Office: BR 216
Phone: 708.227.9843
Email: engelmand@uncw.edu

SarahGNov2021large-140.jpg

Gaby, Sarah

Sarah Gaby, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Sociology

Office: 126
Phone: 910-962-3420 or 3432
Email: gabys@uncw.edu

ethan-higgins-biopic.jpg

Higgins, Ethan

Ethan Higgins, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Criminology

Office: BR 225
Phone: 910.962.0532
Email:higginse@uncw.edu

Donna King

King, Donna L.

Donna King, Ph.D.
Professor of Sociology

Office: BR 248
910.962.3420 or 962.3432
Email: kingd@uncw.edu

Dr. Christina Lanier

Lanier, Christina

Christina Lanier, Ph.D.
Professor of Criminology 

Office: BR 124
910.962.3420 or 962.3432
Email: lanierc@uncw.edu

Mike Maume

Maume, Mike  

Mike Maume, Ph.D.
Professor and Department Chair

Office: BR 207A
Email: maume@uncw.edu

ken_pic_2019.png

Mentor, Kenneth

Kenneth Mentor, J.D., Ph.D.
Senior Lecturer of Criminology

Online Criminology Program Coordinator Email: mentork@uncw.edu

MICHAELS-2.jpg

Michaels, Erin

Erin Michaels, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Sociology

Office: BR 222
Phone: 910.962.0531
Email: michaelse@uncw.edu

Murray, Chardon

Chardon Murray
Lecturer of Criminology

Office: BR 125
Email: murraycl@uncw.edu

Raguparan_Menaka-0063-2-1.jpg

Raguparan, Menaka

Menaka Raguparan, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Criminology 

Office: BR 227
Phone: 910.962.3003
Email: raguparanm@uncw.edu

candice-robinson-0025-2.jpeg

Robinson, Candice

Candice Robinson, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Sociology

Office: BR 221
Email: robinsonca@uncw.edu

Rogers, Tiffany G

Tiffany G. Rogers, Ph.D.
Visiting Assistant Professor of Criminology    

Office: BR 223
Email:rogerstg@uncw.edu

Ann Rotchford

Rotchford, Ann 

Ann Rotchford, Ph.D.
Senior Lecturer of Criminology

Office: BR 230
910.962.3420 or 962.3432
Email: rotchforda@uncw.edu

Shannon Santana

Santana, Shannon

Shannon Santana, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Criminology

Office: BR 130
Phone: 910.962.2426
Email: santanas@uncw.edu

Smith-0006-2.jpg

Smith, Justin

Justin Smith, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Criminology

Undergraduate Program Coordinator: Criminology

Office: BR 226
Phone: 910.962.0533
Email:smithjm@uncw.edu

Sutherland-.jpg

Sutherland, Jean-Anne

Jean-Anne Sutherland, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Sociology

Office: BR 220
Phone: 910.962.4170
Email: sutherlandj@uncw.edu

brock-ternes-08-06-2020-Headshot-3-Ternes-Brock.jpg 

Ternes, Brock

Brock Ternes, Ph.D.
Visiting Assistant Professor of Sociology

Office: BR 123
910.962.7420
Email: ternesb@uncw.edu

Dr. Jennifer Vanderminden

Vanderminden, Jennifer A.

Jennifer A. Vanderminden, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Sociology

Office: BR 132
910.632.0522
Email: vandermindenj@uncw.edu

 waity-58of78.jpg

Waity,Julia

Jill Waity, Ph.D. 
Associate Chair
Associate Professor of Sociology

Office: BR 120
Phone: 910.962.3660
Email: waityj@uncw.edu

Williams, Joshua H.

Joshua H. Williams, Ph.D.
Visiting Assistant Professor of Criminology

Office: BR 127
Email: williamsjh@uncw.edu

Administrative Staff, Office Bear Hall 207

Stephanie Laughter
Office: BR 207 
Phone: 910-962-3420
Email: laughters@uncw.edu
Kathy Parish 
Office: BR 207
Phone: 910-962-3432
Email: parishk@uncw.edu

 Part Time and Visiting Faculty

Brooks, Felix
brooksf@uncw.edu
Casey Errante
errantec@uncw.edu
Brown, Marshall
brownjm@uncw.edu
Gregory Ferrell
ferrellg@uncw.edu
Kathleen Canning-Mello
canningk@uncw.edu
Kristin Godwin 
godwink@uncw.edu
Richard Davis
davisrb@uncw.edu

Retired Faculty 

Bullers, Susan, Ph.D.
Professor Emerita of Sociology
Email: bullerss@uncw.edu
McNamee, Stephen, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus of Sociology
Email: mcnamee@uncw.edu
Richard Dixon, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus of Sociology
Rice, John, Ph.D.
Associate Professor Emeritus of Sociology
Email: ricej@uncw.edu
T. David Evans, Ph.D.
Professor of Criminology
Email: evanst@uncw.edu
Snowden, Lynne, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Criminology
Faulkner, Gary, Ph.D. 
Professor Emeritus of Sociology 
Email: faulknerg@uncw.edu
Wadsworth, Angela, Ph.D.
Senior Lecturer Emerita of Sociology
Email: 
wadswortha@uncw.edu
LaGrange, Randy, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus of Criminology 
Willis, Cecil , Ph.D. 
Professor Emeritus of Criminology
Email: willis@uncw.edu 
Levy, Diane, Ph.D. 
Professor Emerita of Sociology
Email: levyd@uncw.edu