School of Health and Applied Human Sciences

Faculty and Staff Directory

SHAHS faculty directory

Administration

Elliott_SteveDr. Steve Elliott
Director 
Associate Professor

Trask Coliseum 151
910.962.2115
elliotts@uncw.edu

BIO

Nanney_LindseyLindsey Nanney 
Interim Associate Director & Program Coordinator 

Trask Coliseum 146
910.962.3508
nanneyl@uncw.edu

BIO

Pinkham_AshleaAshlea Pinkham 
Administrative Associate for  Faculty & Staff

Trask Coliseum 144
910.962.4268
pinkhama@uncw.edu

Way_CarolCarol Way
Administrative Associate for  Director and Associate Director

Trask Coliseum 152
910.962.2620
wayc@uncw.edu

Athletic Training

Steven ZinderDr. Steven Zinder
Associate Professor & Program Coordinator 

Trask 149
910.962.0504
zinders@uncw.edu

BIO

Brown_KirkDr. Kirk Brown
Associate Professor 

Natatorium 119C
910.962.7184
brownk@uncw.edu

BIO

Schroeder_LindseyDr. Lindsey Schroeder 
Assistant Professor / Clinical Education Coordinator 

Natatorium 119F
910.962.7188
schroederl@uncw.edu

BIO

Public Health

Catalano_HannahDr. Hannah Catalano
Assistant Professor & Program Coordinator 

Trask 153
910.962.7768
catalanoh@uncw.edu

BIO


Elisabeth BaynardElisabeth Baynard
Lecturer

Hanover 108
910.962.7704
baynarde@uncw.edu

BIO

Chen_Edinboro_LenisDr. Lenis Chen-Edinboro
Assistant Professor

Natatorium 119D
910.962.7718
edinborol@uncw.edu

BIO

Sabrina CherryDr. Sabrina Cherry
Assistant Professor

Natatorium 119A
910.962.7135
cherrys@uncw.edu

BIO

Figueroa_JorgeDr. Jorge Figueroa
Lecturer

Natatorium 119B
910.962.2450
figueroaj@uncw.edu

BIO

Melannie PateDr. Melannie Pate
Lecturer

Hanover 108
910.962.7162
patem@uncw.edu

BIO  

Eric RichardsonDr. Eric Richardson
Assistant Professor 

Trask 145
910.962.0502
richardsone@uncw.edu

BIO

Kerry WhippleDr. Kerry Whipple
Associate Professor

Natatorium 119E
910.962.7453
whipplek@uncw.edu

Exercise Science

Sprod Lisa 2018Dr. Lisa Sprod
Associate Professor & Program Coordinator 

Trask Coliseum 148
910.962.2583
sprodl@uncw.edu

BIO

Barnes_ChristianChristian Barnes
Lecturer

Hanover Hall 202B
910.962.7288
barnesc@uncw.edu

BIO

Boyce_RobertDr. Robert Boyce
Associate Professor

Hanover Hall 202
910.962.7824
boycer@uncw.edu

BIO

Dowd_DebDr. Deb Dowd
Associate Professor

Hanover Hall 201D
910.962.3255
dowdd@uncw.edu

BIO

Heijnen_MichelDr. Michel Heijnen
Assistant Professor

Natatorium 119I
910.962.7493
heijnenm@uncw.edu

BIO

Alexander McDanielDr. Alex McDaniel
Lecturer 

Trask 114
910.962.7622
mcdanielat@uncw.edu

BIO

Shields_TamlynAnn (Tamlyn) Shields
Lecturer

Trask Coliseum 115D (Lab)
910.962.7964
shieldsa@uncw.edu

BIO

Wayland_TsehDr. Wayland Tseh
Associate Professor

Trask Coliseum 115A (Lab)
910.962.2484
tsehw@uncw.edu

BIO

Jessica Van MeterJessica Van Meter 
Lecturer

Natatorium 119J
910.962.7210
vanmeterj@uncw.edu

BIO

Gerontology

Anne GlassDr. Anne Glass
Professor & Program Coordinator

McNeill Hall 2032
910.962.7509
glassa@uncw.edu

BIO

Fugate_Whitlock_ElizabethDr. Elizabeth Fugate-Whitlock
Lecturer

Hanover Hall 108
910.962.7816
whitlocke@uncw.edu

BIO


Healthful Living and Fitness Education

Huelskamp_AmeliaDr. Amelia (Kit) Huelskamp
Assistant Professor  & Program Coordinator

Trask Coliseum 150
910.962.7308
huelskampa@uncw.edu

BIO

Combs_SueDr. C. Sue Combs
Professor 

combsc@uncw.edu

BIO

Jordan WebberDr. Jordan Weber
Lecturer

Natatorium 119G
910.962.7275
weberj@uncw.edu

BIO

Recreation, Sport Leadership & Tourism Management

Franzidis_AlexiaDr. Alexia Franzidis
Associate Professor & Program Coordinator 

Hanover Hall 201F
910.962.2268
franzidisa@uncw.edu

BIO

Jason FosterDr. Jason Foster
Lecturer

Hanover Hall 201E
910.962.3251
fosterj@uncw.edu

BIO

William Hunter HollandDr. William Hunter Holland 
Lecturer

Hanover 201E
910.962.0503
hollandw@uncw.edu

BIO  

Morris_LauraDr. Laura (Spivey) Morris
Assistant Professor

Hanover Hall 201B
910.962.2451
spiveyl@uncw.edu

BIO

Seaman_AlanaDr. Alana Seaman
Assistant Professor

Hanover Hall 201G
910.962.7568
seamana@uncw.edu

BIO

Recreation Therapy

Ashton_CandyDr. Candy Ashton-Forrester
Professor & Program Coordinator

McNeill Hall 3010
910.962.7794
ashtonc@uncw.edu

BIO

Gray_CaraDr. Cara Gray
Assistant Professor

McNeill Hall 3008
910.962.3733
grayc@uncw.edu

BIO

Johnson_DanDr. Dan Johnson
Associate Professor

McNeill Hall 3015
910.962.3659
johnsonde@uncw.edu

BIO

Miller_SaraSara Miller
Lecturer

McNeill Hall 3051
910.962.7901
millersm@uncw.edu

BIO

Angela SardinaDr. Angela Sardina
Assistant Professor

McNeill Hall 3053
910.962.3521
sardinaa@uncw.edu

BIO

Physical Activity and Wellness (PED 101)

Nanney_LindseyLindsey Nanney
Interim Associate Director & Program Coordinator 

Trask Coliseum 146 
910.962.3508
nanneyl@uncw.edu

BIO

John LothesDr. John Lothes
Lecturer

Hanover Hall 203
910.962.2848
lothesj@uncw.edu

BIO

Amy OlsenAmy Olsen
Lecturer

Hanover Hall 204
910.962.2181
olsenad@uncw.edu

BIO

Todd_MarshaMarsha Todd
Lecturer 

Hanover Hall 202A
910.962.7815
toddm@uncw.edu

BIO

CHHS accreditation

Part-Time Faculty - Fall 2019

Thomas Bartolotta bartolottat@uncw.edu
Sarah Brownlee brownlees@uncw.edu
Nancy Carson carsonn@uncw.edu
Michael Catalano catalanom@uncw.edu
Dawn Cook cookdr@uncw.edu
Danielle Cotellessa cotellessad@uncw.edu
Breyana Davis davisbd@uncw.edu
Evelyn Donahoe donahoee@uncw.edu
Daniel Forrester forresterd@uncw.edu
Julie Francis francisj@uncw.edu
Jess Frank frankj@uncw.edu
Sarah Gilbert gilberts@uncw.edu
Zachary Gilbert gilbertz@uncw.edu
Jessica Hartmann hartmannj@uncw.edu
Lacey Hatley hatleyl@uncw.edu
Trent Hayden haydent@uncw.edu
Kyria Henry henryk@uncw.edu
Larry Honeycutt honeycuttl@uncw.edu
Suzanne Hunt huntsa@uncw.edu 
Adam Jetton jettona@uncw.edu
Melinda (Mindy) Johnson johnsonml@uncw.edu
Stacy (Downar) Kuhn downars@uncw.edu
Brooke Lambert lambertb@uncw.edu
Leah Mayo mayom@uncw.edu
Rachael McLoud mcloudr@uncw.edu
Zachary Mishoe mishoez@uncw.edu
Donna Mooneyham mooneyhamd@uncw.edu
Naydi Nazario nazarion@uncw.edu
Sarah Noland nolands@uncw.edu
Allison Nye nyea@uncw.edu
Hans Olsen olsenh@uncw.edu
Amberlynn Pappas pappasa@uncw.edu
Amanda Powell powellaa@uncw.edu
Andy Rampe rampea@uncw.edu
Sheri Shaw
shaws@uncw.edu
Laura Siljander siljanderl@uncw.edu
Emily Smith smithea@uncw.edu
Gregory Spahr spahrg@uncw.edu
Chelsea (Smart) Stant
stantc@uncw.edu
Jason Stempin stempinj@uncw.edu
Phillip Stott stottp@uncw.edu
Allison Talley talleya@uncw.edu 
Jessica Van Hulst vanhulstj@uncw.edu
John Ware warej@uncw.edu
Rebecca Warfield warfieldr@uncw.edu
Kathy Welliver welliverk@uncw.edu 
Dr. Ashley Wells wellsa@uncw.edu 
SHAHS faculty directory

Emeritus Faculty

John P. Bennett, Ed.D.

Professor of Physical Education

Eleanor Krassen Covan, Ph.D.

Professor Emerita of Gerontology and Sociology

Darwin Dennison, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus of Public Health Studies

James H. Herstine, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus of Recreation, Sports Leadership and Tourism Management

Walter B. (Terry) Kinney, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus of Health and Applied Human Sciences

Charles A. Lewis, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus of Health and Applied Human Sciences

Judith B. Lewis, M.Ed.

Assistant Professor Emerita of Physical Education

David K. Miller, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus of Health and Applied Human Sciences

David E. Warner, M.Ed.

Associate Professor Emerita of Health, Physical Education and Recreation