University Planning

University Planning and Quality Council


February 24, 2004

Members Present: Chancellor Rosemary DePaolo, Dr. Paul Hosier, Dr. Robert Tyndall, Ms. Pat Leonard, Mr. Ty Rowell (for Ms. Mary Gornto), Ms. Kay Ward, Dr. Jo Ann Seiple, Mr. Lawrence Clark, Dr. Karen Wetherill (for Dr. Cathy Barlow), Dr. Virginia Adams, Dr. Robert Roer, Dr. Terrence Curran, Dr. Daniel Noland, Dr. Susan McCaffray, Dr. Carol Pilgrim, Dr. Denis Carter.

Others Attending: Ms. Marybeth Bianchi, Dr. Raymond Burt, Mr. Ed Davis, Ms. Nikki Howard, Mr. Mark Lanier, Ms. Nanette Manning and Dr. Kenneth Spackman.

A quorum was established and Chancellor DePaolo called the meeting to order at 3:35 pm.

The minutes of the February 5, 2004, meeting were approved as distributed on the Web.

1. Dr. Spackman reported briefly on the meeting of task force chairs held February 17. Each of the four task forces (Basic Studies Review, First-Year Experience, Diversity, International Issues) will present to the Council at its March 3 meeting information about their respective issues for potential inclusion in the university's strategic plan.

2. The Council took up consideration of the working list of main issues begun at the February 5 meeting. The approach was to frame each issue as an overarching strategic direction, and then identify the components that are needed to operationalize that direction and that will lead to the articulation of measured, timed strategic goals. An expanded, but still far from complete, working list was constructed.

3. Dr. Hosier assigned three working groups to complete/refine/edit/amend three of the main issues. (The issues of fundraising, diversity, and internationalization are being addressed by other groups.) He asked that each group meet at least once in advance of the next meeting, and be prepared to present their results for Council consideration at that time. The working group memberships are:

#1 Quality academic environment and sense of campus community

Jo Ann Seiple (head)
Carol Pilgrim
Sue McCaffray
Bob Roer
Kay Ward

#3 Faculty/staff quality, retention and development

Dan Noland (head)
Karen Wetherill-Cathy Barlow
Larry Clark
Tom Schmid

#6 Regional engagement

Bob Tyndall (head)
Mark Lanier
Virginia Adams
Pat Leonard

There was no new business.

The meeting was adjourned at 5:05 pm.

Future Meetings

March 3, 2004, 3:30-5:00 pm, AL 215
March 24, 2004, 3:30-5:00 pm, AL 215

Return to Planning Minutes Homepage

Last Updated: February 26, 2004