Office of e-Learning

Excellence in e-Learning Award

Congratulations to the 2017 Excellence in e-Learning award recipient
Dr. Elizabeth Gazza!!!!

Call for Nominations and Faculty Reviewers

The Excellence in e-Learning award recognizes faculty members for outstanding online course design and delivery. Winners are selected by a committee of volunteer faculty reviewers and instructional designers from the Office of e-Learning. Courses are rated using the Quality Matters rubric. Faculty members are encouraged to nominate a course or volunteer to be a course reviewer. 

Faculty members with nominated courses must self-evaluate by completing the Quality Matters rubric with justifications as part of the required submission materials. Each course nominated will be reviewed by 2 - 4 faculty members. The Office of e-Learning will compile the results and announce the winner at the beginning of Fall 2018 semester.

The Office of e-Learning staff will conduct training on the Quality Matters rubric for volunteer faculty reviewers. Each faculty reviewer will be assigned 1 - 2 courses to evaluate, depending on how many courses are nominated. The reviewers will have approximately 2 months to complete the evaluation.

Please submit nominations or volunteer to be a course reviewer via e-mail to by January 31, 2018.

Nature of Award and Recognition

The purpose of this award is to recognize excellence in online and web-enhanced course design. There shall be one Excellence in e-learning award recipient each year. Announcement and presentation of the award will be made at the Fall Faculty meeting.

The recipient of the Excellence in e-Learning Award will receive a $1000 stipend, plaque, and campus wide recognition. 

Criteria for Nomination and Selection

The criteria for nomination are outlined in the Quality Matters Rubric:

Procedures for Nomination and Selection

Any faculty member may nominate another faculty member or themselves via a letter to the office of e-learning ( stating the basis for his/her nomination based on the following requirements:

  1. Full-time or part-time faculty teaching a fully online or blended course
  2. Tenure or non-tenure track faculty teaching a fully online or blended course
  3. Innovative and/or effective use of instructional technologies
  4. Nominees must submit a self-evaluation of their course using the QM rubric to be considered by February 23, 2018.

2018 Timeline

Call for Nominations - October through December 2017
Nomination Deadline - December 8, 2017
Nominees notified to prepare materials - December, 2017
Call for volunteer reviewers December 2017 - February 2018
Material submission deadline - February 23, 2018
Reviewer Training - February 27 and 28, 2018
Nominee Review - March through May 2018
Award Presented - Fall 2018 Faculty Meeting

Previous Winners

To view a list of all past award recipients, please visit the Academic Affairs Awards site. 

Elizabeth Gazza - College of Health and Human Services, 2017

Megan Blumenthal - College of Arts and Sciences, 2016

Dr. Ashlee Balena - College of Arts and Sciences, 2015

Salena Rabidoux - Watson College of Education, 2014

Dr. Elizabeth Crawford - Watson College of Education, 2013