Watson Chronicle


Watson College News

WCE Alumni Honored as Nominees for NHCS Rookie of the Year

Tuesday, January 03, 2017

Nine Watson College alumni are among 16 teachers nominated for New Hanover County Schools’ first annual Rookie of the Year award. NHCS is partnering with the Wilmington Downtown Rotary Club on the process, designed to honor outstanding professionals in their second and third years of teaching.

Watson College alumni nominated for the honor are:

  • Caroline Kemmerer ’14,  College Park Elementary (Bachelor’s of Arts, Elementary Education)
  • Kelsey Dibernardo ’13, Freeman Elementary (Bachelor of Arts, Special Education – General Curriculum)
  • Danielle Williams ‘ 14, Laney High School (Master of Arts Teaching – Secondary Science Education)
  • Whitney Lanier ’13, New Hanover High School (Bachelor of Arts, Music Education)
  • Kara Abbott ’14, Ogden Elementary (Bachelor of Arts, Elementary Education)
  • Morgan Bullard ’14, Pine Valley Elementary (Bachelor of Arts, Elementary Education)
  • Courtney Malahias ’88, Snipes Academy (Bachelor of Arts, Early Childhood Education)
  • Joseph Callahan ’15, Trask Middle School (Bachelor of Arts, Middle Grades Math/Science)
  • Ashley Pavlick ’14, M.C. Williams Elementary (Bachelor of Arts, Special Education – General Curriculum)

"We are so proud of the accomplishments of our Watson College graduates, and the impact they are having in the lives of children, schools, and the community,” said Watson College Dean Van Dempsey. “The nominees represent a wide range of teaching areas and grade levels, and their work is exemplary of the best of the teaching profession. They are all a testament to the sense of opportunity and optimism educators create every day." 

New Hanover County Schools announced the nominees in a news release in January.

A committee of seven will determine the five finalists who will then interview for the honor of 2017 NHCS Rookie of the Year. The overall winner will be announced in February and recognized at the March 2017 Board of Education meeting.

Media coverage of the announcement:

WECT, Jan. 9: 16 teachers nominated for Rookie of the Year