Watson Chronicle


Watson College News

Watson College Recognitions

Wednesday, June 01, 2016

Joanne Nottingham and Harry Davis were featured in a “We are UNCW” profile on April 26.

Nottingham is the faculty coordinator of Leadership Studies and lecturer in the Department of Educational Leadership in the Watson College of Education. Davis, her husband, is an award-winning Wilmington artist.

Youth Programs director Sue Kezios was named 2016 Outstanding Formal Educator in Science, Mathematics and Technology Education by the North Carolina Science Mathematics and Technology Education Center (NC SMT) in January. A video that talks about the work that led to her award was developed by NC SMT in May. https://www.ncsmt.org/awards/outstanding-informal-educator/2016-outstanding-informal-educator-sue-kezios/

Jeanne Swafford, associate professor, Department of Early Childhood, Elementary, Middle Grades, Literacy and Special Education (EEMLS) is the 2016 recipient of the prestigious Chancellor's Teaching Excellence Award.

Faculty Promotions and Tenure Announcements

Congratulations to three faculty members awarded tenure and promoted to associate professor!

  • Marsha Carr, Department of Educational Leadership (EL)
  • Elizabeth Crawford, EEMLS
  • Ray Pastore, Department of Instructional Technology, Foundations and Secondary Education (ITFSE)

Faculty Articles and Publications

Somer Lewis, Amy Garrett Dikkers and Aimee Whiteside received a 2016 Award for Excellence from Emerald Group Publishing. The book chapter they authored, titled “Providing chances for students to recover credit: is online learning a solution?” was selected as an Outstanding Author Contribution for Advances in Research in Teaching. Lewis is director of WCE’s Professional Development System Office, Garrett Dikkers is an associate professor in the Department of Educational Leadership and Whiteside is a faculty member at the University of Tampa.

Kevin McClure authored an article titled “Building the Innovative and Entrepreneurial University: An Institutional Case Study of Administrative Academic Capitalism” that has been accepted for publication in the July/August issue of The Journal of Higher Education. McClure is an assistant professor in the Department of Educational Leadership.

View the abstract here: https://muse.jhu.edu/article/616447.

Jale Aldemir and Hengameh Kermani authored an article titled “Improving Outcomes for Head Start Children” that has been accepted for publication in Early Child Development and Care. Aldemir is assistant professor, EEMLS and Kermani is associate professor, EEMLS.

Elizabeth Crawford authored a blog post titled “Introducing Elementary Teachers to Humane Education” that was posted on the Institute for Humane Education website in April. Crawford is an assistant professor, EEMLS. The article can be viewed here:


AERA Conference Participants

Seventeen WCE faculty members participated in the 2016 American Educational Research Association (AERA) annual meeting, held in Washington, D.C. April 8-12. The theme of the conference was “Public Scholarship to Educate Diverse Democracies.” Faculty presenters were:

  • Jale Aldemir, “Using Videoconferencing-Mediated Mentoring to Support Experienced Faculty on Videoconferencing Pedagogy”
  • Lisa Buchanan, Amelia Moody, Kathy Fox, Tracy Hargrove, Kathy Roney and Alicia Brophy, “Professional Learning Communities as Teacher Educator Professional Development: Articulating the Impact on Pedagogy and Student Learning”
  • Amy Garrett Dikkers, “Multiple Perspectives on a Blended Learning Initiative in a Large Suburban High School”
  • Susan Faircloth, “Intersections: Social Justice & Culturally Relevant Leadership in the Deaf Community”
  • Jeremy Hilburn, “Teacher Perceptions of the Role of Social Studies in the Education and Acculturation of Immigrant Youth”
  • Scott Imig, “Reframing Teacher Education for Learning Equity”
  • Kosta Kyriacopoulos, “A Diagnostic Shift: How Banks’s Knowledge Typology Gave Voice to Multicultural Education Theory, Research, and Practice”
  • Kevin McClure, “The Costs of Belonging: Undergraduate Student Perceptions of Social Spending and Its Effects on College Affordability”
  • Kevin McClure and Ken Teitelbaum, “Leading Schools of Education in the Era of Academic Capitalism: Deans’ Responses to State Policy Changes”
  • Mahnaz Moallem, “Massive Open Online Courses and Assessment of Learning Outcomes” and “Closing the Gap Using Feedback and Feed-Forward to Promote Problem-Based Learning in Distance Education”
  • Lynn Sikma, “Contextual Influences on Novice Elementary Teacher Job Satisfaction”

Faculty discussants and chairs were:

  • Kathy Fox, Discussant of “Cognition, Dispositions, and Perceptions of Pre-service Teachers Regarding Field Experiences” and “Parent Involvement and Educational Achievement”
  • Jeremy Hilburn, Chair of “Teacher Practice and Student Learning in History and Political Science”
  • Kosta Kyriacopoulos, Discussant of “Multicultural Education From Multiple Perspectives”
  • Mahnaz Moallem, Chair of “Scaffolding STEM Learning With Technology” and “Problem-Based Education SIG Full Paper Session: Teachers and Problem Based Education”
  • Ken Teitelbaum, Chair of “Herbert M. Kliebard and the Struggle for Curriculum Study: Celebrating a Scholar’s Life”

Staff Recognitions

Nicole Geczi has been awarded a Graduate School Scholarship in the amount of $500 for the 2016-2017 academic year in recognition of her exceptional scholarly achievement in the Master of Public Administration (MPA) program offered through UNCW’s Department of Public & International Affairs. Geczi is administrative associate in the Dean’s Office. The award was presented at the MPA Capstone Presentation at the Watson College on April 28.

Watson College of Education Distinguished Alumni 2016

Sueanne McKinney ’82 and Frances Boney Bessellieu ’82, ’99M (posthumously) were recognized at the Watson College of Education’s Distinguished Alumni of the year at the Alumni Chapter’s annual spring dinner on May 17.

Sueanne McKinney began her career as an elementary school teacher in Virginia.  She was a teacher of the year and won the “School Bell” award three times for outstanding contributions to education. McKinney is currently an associate professor in elementary education at Old Dominion University, where she has received several teaching awards including the 2014 Champion of Diversity Award; the Norfolk Educational Foundation Rookie of the Year Award and the William C. Lowry University Educator of the Year from the Virginia Council of Teachers of Mathematics. Dr. McKinney was nominated for the WCE alumni award by Gloria Campbell Whatley.

Frances Boney Bessellieu held a degree in special education and a master’s in curriculum and instruction. She began her career teaching students with severe behavior disorders. She went on to be Lead Direct Instruction Teacher for New Hanover County, head of reading for Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools and a member of the team that ran Reading First in Washington, D.C., before starting an education consulting company and working to improve reading among Native Americans. Bessellieu was nominated for the WCE alumni award by Martin Kozloff. Anna McCauly accepted the award on her sister’s behalf.

About the Distinguished Alumnus Award

Each year the UNCW Watson College of Education Alumni Chapter recognizes an alumnus who has made significant contributions to education and who represents the commitment to excellence typified by the Watson College of Education. Nominations are accepted from alumni, faculty, staff and community members. Nomination forms are posted in the spring and the award is given at the spring alumni dinner in May.