Watson Chronicle


Watson College News

Event Held to Honor 2016 Razor Walker Award Recipients

Wednesday, June 08, 2016

UNCW Chancellor Jose V. Sartarelli, Provost Marilyn Sheerer and WCE Dean Van Dempsey welcomed more than 250 community leaders, faculty and friends of the Watson College to the 24th annual Razor Walker Awards Ceremony at UNCW’s Burney Center April 18.

2016 honorees are June St. Clair Atkinson, state superintendent of the Public Schools of North Carolina; Hannah Dawson Gage, Wilmington businesswoman and University of North Carolina Board of Governors emeritus; Clifford D. Barnett Sr., pastor of the Warner Temple A.M.E. Zion Church in Wilmington; Wanda Marino, assistant director at New Hanover County Department of Social Services; and Communities in Schools of Cape Fear.

“It is an honor for the Watson College of Education to recognize and celebrate people whose work enhances the lives of children, families and communities,” said Dean Van Dempsey. “In this year’s honorees, we see that service in extraordinary ways from local communities and schools to their impact on policy and the quality of education for North Carolina as a state. Across that spectrum, the work of this year’s recipients speaks to, informs and makes better the work of people everywhere who ‘walk the razor’s edge.’"

Watson College established the Razor Walker Awards in 1993 to honor individuals whose vision, tenacity, courage and sacrifice have made a difference in the lives of young people.

Coverage of the Event

UNCW home page story March 15- https://uncw.edu/news/2016/03/watson-college-of-education-announces-2016-razor-walker-award-winners.html

StarNews April 14 - http://www.starnewsonline.com/article/20160414/ENTERTAINMENT/160419819

Greater Wilmington Business Journal May 24 - http://www.wilmingtonbiz.com/achievers_and_accolades/2016/05/24/razor_walker_awards_go_to_4_individuals_1_organization/14827