Watson Chronicle


Our College Community

Alumni Hold Annual Spring Dinner at WCE

Sunday, May 03, 2015

The Watson College of Education alumni chapter hosted their annual spring dinner at the college on April 28. Dean Kenneth Teitelbaum joined alumni president Sarah Payne in welcoming faculty, students and alumni to the event.

Dewy N. "Chris" Furr was recognized as WCE's 2015 Distinguished Alumni of the Year. Furr was chosen based on his achievements as an educator and his extensive community involvement.




Alumni chapter scholarships for 2015-16 were awarded to Maya Bassett, Katlyn Joyner, Danielle Kelly and Stephie McCumbee. Bassett and Joyner are enrolled in the Special Education General Curriculum program, Kelly is enrolled in Elementary Education and McCumbee is in the Educational Leadership doctoral program with a concentration in Educational Administration.

Another highlight of the evening was a panel presentation by alumni Kris Florea '09M and Kayce Smith '12M.

Florea teaches English and is Hoggard High School's 2014-15 Teacher of the Year. Smith teaches world languages at South Brunswick Middle School and is Brunswick County Schools' 2014-15 Teacher of the Year.

Attendees enjoyed the evening and look forward to the next WCE Alumni dinner in the fall.