Skip to header Skip to Content Skip to Footer

Yvonne Marsan Honored with 2023 Staff Award for Excellence

Marsan, Others Recognized for Exemplary Service

Yvonne Marsan poses with UNCW Chancellor Aswani Volety after receving the 2023 Staff Award of Excellence.
Yvonne Marsan poses with UNCW Chancellor Aswani Volety after receving the 2023 Staff Award of Excellence.

The UNCW Staff Award for Excellence reception was held at the Burney Center on May 2 to recognize members of the campus community who have excelled in their service to UNCW in the categories of customer service, efficiency and innovation, human relations, outstanding state government service, public service and spirit of North Carolina.  

Yvonne Marsan is this year’s recipient of the UNCW Staff Award for Excellence. Marsan was among 20 individuals and 1 team nominated by UNCW colleagues. 

Dr. Aswani K. Volety congratulated the staff honorees, reminding them that their work helps students and faculty succeed.  

“Your efforts keep our doors open, our buildings functional, our campus beautiful, and our university operational,” said Dr. Volety. “UNCW wouldn’t be where it is today – which is firmly placed among the nation’s best public universities – without you.” 

In one nomination letter, Marsan, a research technician supporting both the Department of Earth and Ocean Sciences and the Department of Physical and Physical Oceanography since 2006, is credited for her integral role in the launch of the new Coastal Engineering program and the construction of the Coastal Engineering building.  

“Yvonne is always willing to help, works tirelessly to find solutions to last-minute problems, and is never anything but kind. If we all put the university, departments, and students above ourselves the way Yvonne does, UNCW would shine brighter than it already does.” 

She was also cited for being “deeply devoted to improving inclusivity and a culture of belonging within and outside of our departments,” according to a second nomination letter. 

As the recipient of the Staff Award for Excellence, Marsan receives $1,500, a reserved parking space for a year, a framed certificate, a commemorative clock and her name has been engraved on the Award for Excellence plaque in Alderman Hall. Nominees for the Governor’s Award of Excellence received a custom engraved gift. 

Five nominees, including Marsan, will be considered for the Governor’s Award of Excellence, the highest honor bestowed on a state employee. These nominees will join more than 300 other North Carolina State Employee nominees to potentially be selected as a winner: 

  • Gianna Geiss Feder - Customer Service 
  • Susan Finley - Outstanding Government Service 
  • Zach Gilbert - Human Relations 
  • Yvonne Marsan - Public Service 
  • David Singley - Efficiency and Innovation
The 2023 Staff Award for Excellence nominees are: 
  • Diane Bomba, School of Nursing 
  • Hannah Boone, Transition Programs 
  • Jordan Calfee, Events and Board Management 
  • Susan Finley, Watson College of Education 
  • Gianna Geiss Feder, Center for Education in STEM 
  • Zach Gilbert, Campus Recreation 
  • Jack Horn, Distance Ed and eLearning 
  • Sonya Kelly, Department of Psychology 
  • Diane Lane, Watson College of Education 
  • Stephanie Laughter, Department of Sociology and Criminology 
  • Yvonne Marsan, Departments of Earth & Ocean Sciences and Physics & Physical Oceanography 
  • Craig Metty, Center for Marine Science 
  • Maureen Nelson, Facilities Administration 
  • Kathy Parish, Department of Sociology and Criminology 
  • Mark Perez-Lopez, University Counseling Center and Testing Services 
  • Kristi Ramadani, College of Health and Human Services 
  • David Singley, Physical Plant 
  • Susan Smith, Campus Recreation 
  • Chelsea Stant, Health Promotion 
  • Mike Walker, Student Affairs 
  • Core UNCW Web Team: Molly McKeown, Andrea Arbogast, Danielle Ferrell, Jarrett Piner