UNCW Board of Trustees Elects 2019-20 Officers

Friday, July 19, 2019

The UNCW Board of Trustees elected officers for the 2019-20 academic year at today’s quarterly meeting.
Henry L. (Hal) Kitchin, Jr., a Wilmington resident and member of the board since 2013, has been elected as chair. As chair, Kitchin will lead the Board of Trustees, the Executive Committee, and the Endowment Board.
“Since 2013, it has been an honor and a privilege to serve on the UNCW Board of Trustees, and I look forward to continued collaboration with my fellow trustees in this new capacity,” Kitchin said. “As a new academic year gets underway, there is so much for us to support in terms of the university’s remarkable reputation and incomparable faculty, staff and students. We are eager to lend a hand however we can."
Dennis P. Burgard ’88, Jacksonville resident and board member since 2013, was elected as vice chair. Burgard is currently chair of the External Affairs Committee and a member of the Educational Planning and Programs and Executive committees.
Gidget Kidd ’91, a member of the board since 2013, was re-elected as board secretary. She currently serves as a member of the Audit, Risk and Compliance Committee, the Educational Planning and Programs Committee and the Executive Committee.
In addition, trustees Woody White, Agnes BeaneGidget Kidd and Hank Miller were all reappointed by the UNC Board of Governors for terms through 2023. New members Michael Lee and Yousry Sayed were sworn in yesterday, and will also serve for terms through 2023.
-- Christina Schechtman