UNCW's Board of Trustees Approves Chancellor Search Committee Members

Monday, September 22, 2014

The UNCW Board of Trustees approved today a 19-member search committee to seek candidates for the role of UNCW's next chancellor. UNC President Tom Ross will visit the UNCW campus on Oct. 2 to formally charge the committee with this search, which will be national in scope and facilitated by a suitably prestigious national recruiting firm, to be named by the committee after interviewing a short list of contenders. The search committee will engage the campus and the community, via open forums, to help identify the traits needed in a new chancellor.

"From my experience at the national level, there is little doubt that the UNCW Chancellorship will attract great candidates from across the country," said Chancellor William Sederburg.

The committee is comprised of:

Gabriel Lugo
Faculty Senate President and Associate Professor, Mathematics and Statistics

Tom Barth
Professor, Public and International Affairs

Paula Reid
Associate Professor, Nursing

Woody Hall
Professor, Economics

Kathy Roney
Professor, Early Childhood, Elementary, Middle, Literacy and Special Education

Student Body:
Tobi Polland
Board of Trustees member; SGA President; rising senior

Terry Ismert
Staff Senate Chair; Adult Nurse Practitioner, UNCW Student Health Center

Volunteer Boards/Alumni/Community:
Morgan Jackson ’96
UNCW Board of Visitors

Hugh Caison ’85
UNCW Foundation

Patrick Boykin ‘94
Former student-athlete; local business leader

Bill Saffo ’83
Mayor, City of Wilmington

Bob Warwick
Long-time UNCW advocate; community leader

Agnes Beane
Long-time UNCW advocate; community leader

Michael Shivar (co-chair)

Wendy Murphy ‘93 (co-chair)

Dennis Burgard ‘88

Wilma Daniels

Carlton Fisher ‘83

Gidget Kidd ‘91