News and Highlights

Candace Thompson poses with Dean Van Dempsey after receiving the Kathleen Berkeley Inconvenient Woman Award from the Women's Studies & Resource Center.

Janna Robertson receives the YWCA Arts Woman of the Year Award.

Drs. Robert Smith, Jaci Webb-Dempsey, Van Dempsey, Donyell Roseboro & Somer Lewis joined by Dr. Austin Obasohan (center), superintendent of Duplin County Schools at the NC Public School Forum Gala.

Somer Lewis, Donyell Roseboro, Kathy Fox, and Van Dempsey presented at the University of North Carolina Professional Development Schools Conference in Myrtle Beach, South Carolina.

Dr. Robert Smith discusses innovation at the WCE faculty and staff college meeting

ITFSE and Educational Leadership departments collaborate to host end of year luncheon for graduate students.

ITFSE faculty members are joined by Dr. Sue Combs from the College of Health and Human Services, for an end of semester celebration. (Top: Candace Blanke, Vance Durrington, Sue Combs; Middle: David Gill and Donyell Roseboro; Bottom: Marta Sanchez and Daisyane Barreto)


Secondary MAT students gather for intern orientation.

Faculty members Salena Rabidoux (far left), David Gill (second from left) and Denise Ousley (far right) present with Lenoir Rhyne faculty member Amy Rottman (second from right) and award-winning author Kevin Henkes (center) at the annual conference for the National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE) in Atlanta Georgia.

Faculty members Daisyane Barreto (left) and Marta Sánchez (right) pose with Chancellor Zito Sartarelli at the WCE alumni event in November.

Makayla (second from right), our work study student and Watson Student Leader, works the Seahawk Saturday recruitment event.

Dr. Janna Robertson receives the Distinguished Scholarly Engagement and Public Service Award.

Robert Smith, Undergraduate Secondary Program Coordinator, and Brian Brinkley, Director of the Betty Stike Education Lab, volunteer at Seahawk Saturday.


ITFSE faculty members create in the new CMC makerspace.

WCE Professors

From Left to Right: Drs. Allen Lynn, Daisyane Barreto, Denise Ousley, David Gill, and Donyell Roseboro prepare for December 2015 commencement. Congrats to all of our students who graduated!

Drs. Griffin and Barreto

Drs. Angie-Reid Griffin and Daisyane Barreto at Chancellor Sartarelli's installation ceremony.

AIG a conference brings 150 educators to campus.

Dr. Kubasko celebrates with students

Dr. Dennis Kubasko (center) joins secondary education students at the fall student celebration dinner.


Secondary students use GPS technology to search for clues as part of the secondary interdisciplinary project.


These are faculty at the senior recognition reception yesterday. The faculty were recognized by graduating students as instructors who made a difference in their education at UNCW!

Linda Register and Tom Ross

Linda Register, UNCW Staff Assembly Treasuer, meets with UNC system president Tom Ross

Fall Retreat

Fall 2015 retreat.


Welcome new MAT students!

Jale Aldemir, Mahnaz Moallem, and Hengameh Kermani

Dr. Mahnaz Moallem (center) at spring 2015 commencement with colleagues from the Early Childhood Education program, Dr. Jale Aldemir (left) and Dr. Hengameh Kermani (right).


MAT alumnus Kiarra Wigfall speaks with Dean Teitelbaum at the Watson alumni luncheon.

Linda Kudos

Congratulations to Linda Register on her well deserved Kudos award!

Dr. Sue Jen Chen

Dr. Sue-Jen Chen served as a faculty co-marshal at the December commencement ceremony

Wilmington Math Teacher Implements Classcraft, An Educational Role-Playing Computer Game

Congratulations to Salena Rabidoux for receiving the 2014 Robert Tyndall Service Award and the 2014 Excellence in E-Learning Award.

Lucas Gillispie '08M, director of academic and digital learning for Surry County Schools and international presenter, demonstrates Oculus Rift for Dr. Pastore and MIT students.

Dr. Candace Thompson recognized in SWOOP as one of the 14 most popular "We are UNCW" profiles!

Dr. Marta Sánchez has been awarded a Charles L. Cahill Award for Faculty Research and Development in the amount of $2,844.00. These funds will be used for a project entitled, "Exploring perspectives on learning and parent involvement among Mexican immigrant parents of K-3 children in the New Latino South"

Dr. Mahnaz Moallem serves as the lead PI on a $300,000 grant from the National Science Foundation

(Left photo, L-R) English department colleague Victor Malo Juvera with David Gill and Denise Ousley at NCTE. (Right photo, L-R) David Gill, Eleni Pappamihiel, Denise Ousley, and Amy Rottman at the National Council of Teachers of English Conference (NCTE)