Center for Marine Science

Staff Listing

CMS State Funded Staff Positions

[alphabetical order, except for directors/coordinators]

Executive Staff

Dr. Lynn Leonard, Director, CMS  |  lynnl@uncw.edu
Dr. Stephen Skrabal, Associate Director for Education | skrabals@uncw.edu
Crystal Helms, Executive Assistant | helmsc@uncw.edu 
Brittani Isidoro, Program Assistant | isidorob@uncw.edu

Business Services Staff

Anne Beach, Business Officer | beacha@uncw.edu
Toniece Boynton, Travel/Accounting Assistant | boytont@uncw.edu
Bill Bonucci, Storeroom Manager | bonucciw@uncw.edu
Peggy Ann Dallmer, HR/Accounting Specialist | dallmerp@uncw.edu
Suzanne Grosser, Procurement Specialist | grossers@uncw.edu

Operations Staff

Jay Styron, Assistant Director for Marine Operations | styronj@uncw.edu
Daniel Aten, Instrument Maker | atend@uncw.edu
Daniel Beguhl, Computer/Electronics Technician | beguhld@uncw.edu
Rob Deanes, Seawater Systems Maintenance Specialist | deanesr@uncw.edu 
Steve Hall, Research Vessel Captain | halls@uncw.edu
Ken Johns, Diving and Water Safety Coordinator | johnsk@uncw.edu
Ron Moore, Seawater Systems Group Leader | moorer@uncw.edu
David Wells, Computer/Electronics Technician | wellsd@uncw.edu

Research Staff

Dr. D. Wilson Freshwater, Research Analyst | freshwaterw@uncw.edu
Kimberley Rosov
, Research Specialist | duernbergerk@uncw.edu 
Melissa D. Smith
, Scientific Illustrator | smithmd@uncw.edu
Dr. Robert Whitehead
, Research Analyst | whiteheadrf@uncw.edu

Marine Biotechnology

Dr. Catharina Alves de Souza, Research Professor | desouzac@uncw.edu
Patrick Carroll, Research Specialist | carrollp@uncw.edu
Susan Niven, Research Specialist | nivens@uncw.edu
Charles Wingert, Lab Culture Specialist | wingertc@uncw.edu 
Bob York, Research Specialist | yorkra@uncw.edu

CMS Grant Research Staff

Lower Cape Fear River Program

Dr. Michael Mallin, Research Professor | mallinm@uncw.edu
Matthew McIver, Research Specialist | mciverm@uncw.edu


North Carolina Estuarine Reserve

Hope Sutton, Environmental Specialist | suttonh@uncw.edu 
Byron Toothman, Research Biologist | toothmanb@uncw.edu
Heather Wells, Research Biologist | wellsh@uncw.edu

Undersea Vehicles Program

Eric Glidden, Operations Manager | gliddene@uncw.edu
Jason White, Operations Field Manager | whitejh@uncw.edu

Coastal Ocean Research and Monitoring Program

Brett Bolton, Research Specialist | boltonbd@uncw.edu
Chris LaClair, Research Specialist | laclairc@uncw.edu

Mariculture Research

Dr. Wade O. Watanabe, Coordinator & Research Professor | watanabew@uncw.edu
Md Shah Alam, Research Associate Professor | alamm@uncw.edu
Patrick Carroll, Facility Supervisor & Research Specialist | carrollp@uncw.edu

Shellfish Research Hatchery

Dr. Ami Wilbur, Director & Associate Professor of Biology and Marine Biology | wilbura@uncw.edu
Nelson Bullock, Research Technician | bullockn@uncw.edu
Amy Finelli, Operations Manager | finellia@uncw.edu
Franz Hueber, Research Technician | hueberf@uncw.edu
Haley Ladeau
, Research Technician | ladeauh@uncw.edu
Abigail Larsen
, Research Technician | larsena@uncw.edu
Jimmy White, Aquaculture System Consult Associate | whitejp@uncw.edu

updated: 06 AUG 2019