Skip to header Skip to Content Skip to Footer

Faculty & Staff

Meet Our Team

 

Dr. Rachel A. Kohman

Professor & Interim Department Chair

Primary interests: Behavioral Neuroscience

Special interests: Psychoneuroimmunology, emphasizing the neuromechanisms and regulating factors (e.g., sex, age, exercise status) of cognitive and hippocampal neurogenesis deficits associated with inflammation in a preclinical model.

Teaching Lab Building 2004D
910.962.3494
kohmanr@uncw.edu

Kohman Lab Website


Dr. Emily L. Baxter

Assistant Professor

Primary interest: Behavior analysis

Special interest: Relapse of challenging behavior, caregiver training, ABA in schools

Teaching Lab Building 2084
910.962.2337
baxtere@uncw.edu


Dr. Katherine Bruce

Professor

Primary interests: Animal behavior and comparative cognition

Special interests: Evolutionary psychology; Learning and remembering; Behavior Analysis

Teaching Lab Building 3040
910.962.3374
bruce@uncw.edu

Galizio-Bruce Lab Website


Dr. Tom Cariveau

Associate Professor

Primary interest: Applied Behavior Analysis

Special interest: Refining interventions for children with developmental disabilities; verbal behavior

Teaching Lab Building 2078
910.962.3036
cariveaut@uncw.edu


Dr. Caroline Clements

Professor

Primary interest: Clinical Psychology

Special interests: Cognitive processes in depression, control perceptions and hopelessness, individual differences in coping, domestic violence

Teaching Lab Building 3042
910.962.7988
clementsc@uncw.edu


Dr. Dale Cohen

Professor

Primary interest: Decision science

Special interest: Numerical cognition, computational modeling.

Teaching Lab Building 3082
910.962.3917
cohend@uncw.edu

Cohen Cognition Lab Website


Dr. Karen A. Daniels

Associate Professor

Primary interest: Cognitive psychology

Special interests: Control of mental processes, individual differences in working memory, training of memory and attention skills

Teaching Lab Building 3094
910.962.7178
danielsk@uncw.edu


Dr. Alissa Dark-Freudeman

Associate Professor

Primary interest: Adult development, aging, and end of life.

Special interests: Self-concept, self-regulation, health and the psychology of death and dying.

Teaching Lab Building 3032
910.962.7378
freudemana@uncw.edu

RISE Psychology Lab Website


Dr. Maria G. Espinosa-Hernandez

Professor & Graduate Coordinator

Primary interest: Developmental psychology and aging

Special interests: Research on sociocultural (e.g., cultural values, religion) and family factors (e.g., parenting) associated with sexuality, and mental health in Latine youth.

Teaching Lab Building 2004E
910.962.4057
hernandezm@uncw.edu


Dr. Christine Hughes

Professor

Primary interests: Behavior analysis and behavioral pharmacology

Special interests: Behavioral and pharmacological mechanisms of drug tolerance; choice and decision making.

Teaching Lab Building 3038
910.962.7795
hughesc@uncw.edu


Dr. Anne Hungerford

Associate Professor & Undergraduate Coordinator

Primary interests: Developmental psychology

Special interests:  Early socioemotional development, parenting and infant temperament

Teaching Lab Building 2004G
910.962.7586
hungerforda@uncw.edu


Dr. Julian Keith

Professor

Primary interests: Cognitive neuroscience

Special interests: Neurobiology of learning and memory; philosophy of neuroscience.

Teaching Lab Building 3030
910.962.3378
keithj@uncw.edu


Dr. Len Lecci

Professor & Director of Clinical Services at Memory Assessment and Research Services

Primary interests: Clinical and personality psychology

Special interests: Motivational underpinnings of mood and health related disorders; individual differences as predictors of adult mental health; juror bias

Teaching Lab Building 2072
910.962.7262
leccil@uncw.edu



Dr. Sally MacKain

Professor

Primary interests:  Clinical psychology

Special interests: Schizophrenia, psychosocial rehabilitation, mental health treatment in correctional settings

Teaching Lab Building 2074
910.962.3732
mackains@uncw.edu


Dr. David A. MacQueen

Assistant Professor

Primary interests: Behavioral pharmacology, cognitive neuroscience, translational methods

Special interests: Cross-species task development, attention, learning, memory, pharmacogenomics

Teaching Lab Building 3090
910.962.0539
macqueend@uncw.edu


Dr. Bryan Myers

Professor

Primary interests: Forensic psychology

Special interests: Jury decision making, capital sentencing, false memories, dogmatic thinking and attitude change

Teaching Lab Building 3028
910.962.3636
myersb@uncw.edu


Jennifer Myers, M.A.

Lecturer

Primary interests: Clinical and developmental psychology

Special interests: Marriage and family therapy

Teaching Lab Building 3023
910.962.3393
myersjg@uncw.edu


Dr. Simone Nguyen

Professor

Primary interests: Cognitive development

Special interests: Categories and concepts, inductive reasoning

Teaching Lab Building 2076
910.962.7731
nguyens@uncw.edu

The Cognitive Development Lab (CDL) Website


Dr. Nora Noel

Professor

Primary interests: Clinical psychology

Special interests: Substance abuse etiology and treatment; substance use in psychiatric populations

Teaching Lab Building 3044
910.962.4044
noeln@uncw.edu


Dr. Erica C. Noles

Lecturer

Primary interests: Developmental and social psychology

Special interests: Development and measurement of racial bias, terror management theory, children's and adults' understanding of death, infants' intermodal perception of gender

Teaching Lab Building 3033
910.962.7130
nolese@uncw.edu


Dr. Kate B. Nooner

Professor & Associate Dean of the College of Science and Engineering

Primary interest: Clinical child and adolescent psychology

Special interests: Trauma and adverse childhood experiences, substance use, health disparities, loneliness, neurodevelopment

Friday Hall Building 2001C
910.962.2571
noonerk@uncw.edu

Dr. Nooner's Website


Dr. Jasmine B. Norman

Assistant Professor

Primary interests: Social psychology

Special interests: Belonging and social identity; Person perception; Stereotyping and bias

Teaching Lab Building 3086
910.962.3370
normanj@uncw.edu

DISCO Lab Website


Dr. Todd C. Peterson

Assistant Professor

Primary interests: Behavioral neuroscience; Cellular and molecular biology

Special interests: Stroke, traumatic brain injury, and neuroinflammation

Teaching Lab Building 3096
910.962.0530
petersont@uncw.edu


Dr. Raymond C. Pitts

Professor

Primary interests: Behavioral pharmacology; Behavior analysis

Special interests: Behavioral and pharmacological mechanisms of drug action; choice and decision making

Teaching Lab Building 3092
910.962.7293
pittsr@uncw.edu


Dr. Richard S. Pond Jr.

Professor

Primary interests: Social psychology

Special interests: Aggression and violence, emotion, affiliation, social exclusion, and loneliness, self-control, statistical methods and research design

Teaching Lab Building 2080
910.962.3372
pondr@uncw.edu


Dr. Antonio E. Puente

Professor

Primary interests: Clinical neuropsychology

Special interests: Cultural neuropsychology; ethnic minorities; international psychology; policy and advocacy

Teaching Lab Building 2086
910.962.3812
puente@uncw.edu


Dr. Jeffrey P. Toth

Associate Professor

Primary interests: Cognitive psychology and neuroscience

Special interests: Memory and attention, cognitive control and unconscious influences, cognitive training,  metacognition

Teaching Lab Building 3088
910.962.3213
tothj@uncw.edu


Dr. Carole M. Van Camp

Associate Professor

Primary interests: Physical activity and health in children, preference and reinforcer assessments, Applied Behavior Analysis

Teaching Lab Building 3034
910.962.3377
vancampc@uncw.edu

Dr. Van Camp's Website


Dr. Wendy Donlin Washington

Professor & Associate Dean of the Graduate School

Primary interests: Applied behavior analysis

Special interests: Substance abuse, experimental analysis of behavior, behavioral pharmacology, behavioral economics

Teaching Lab Building 3004
910.962.2453
donlinw@uncw.edu

Dr. Donlin Washington's Website


Dr. Catherine L. Williams

Assistant Professor

Primary interests: Basic and applied behavior analysis

Special interests: Stimulus control, instructional design, education

Teaching Lab Building 3084
910.962.3288
williamscl@uncw.edu

The Technology of Teaching Lab Website

Dr. Joseph Kishton

Professor Emeritus


kishton@uncw.edu


Ryan Allen Brabrand


brabrandr@uncw.edu


Christopher Carlin


carlinc@uncw.edu


Eric J. Guendner


guendnere@uncw.edu


Elaine Hogan


hoganw@uncw.edu


John Lothes


lothesj@uncw.edu


Michele (Myssie) Mathis


mathism@uncw.edu


Jan Norr


norrj@uncw.edu


Kevin Norr


norrk@uncw.edu


Tracy Peña


penat@uncw.edu


Jamie Pond


pondj@uncw.edu


Donna Vaught


vaughtd@uncw.edu


Jessica L. Whitney


whitneyjl@uncw.edu

 

 

Dr. Michael Bradley

Dr. Robert Brown

Dr. Mark Galizio (Lab Website)

Dr. Lee (Andy) Jackson

Dr. Joseph M. Kishton

Dr. Kathleen Kowal

Dr. C. Sue Lamb

Dr. William H. Overman, Jr.

Dr. Carol Pilgrim

Dr. D. Kim Sawrey

Dr. Carolyn Simmons

Dr. John Williams, Jr.

Brooke Hebbelman

Administrative Associate

910.962.7467
hebbelmanb@uncw.edu


Brittany Andrews

Administrative Associate

910.962.3370
andrewsb@uncw.edu


Sonya Kelly

Administrative Specialist

910.962.4298
kellys@uncw.edu


Rachael V. McLoud-Brophy

Undergraduate Academic Advising Coordinator

910.962.3842
mcloudr@uncw.edu


Rachel Kleitches

Undergraduate Academic Advising Coordinator

910.962.2453
kleitchesr@uncw.edu

top