Skip to header Skip to Content Skip to Footer

Faculty & Staff

Faculty & Staff

Mark Cox

Department Chair & Professor: Poetry


Megan Hubbard

Department Administrator


Lisa Bertini

MFA Program Assistant


Siobahn Daugherty

Administrative Associate: Lookout / Ecotone

Kenan Hall 1102

Melissa Crowe

MFA Coordinator
Assistant Professor: Poetry


Nina de Gramont

Professor: Fiction

Sayantani Dasgupta

Write Wilmington Founder and Coordinator
Associate Professor: Creative Nonfiction/Fiction 

Sarah Domet

Assistant Professor: Fiction

Michelle Donahue

Associate Editor: Ecotone
Writers in Action Coordinator
Assistant Professor: Prose

KaToya Ellis Fleming

Editor: Lookout Books
Assistant Professor: Publishing Arts

Jill Gerard

Internship Coordinator
Editor: Chautauqua 

David Gessner

Editor-in-Chief: Ecotone
Professor: Creative Nonfiction

Kimi Faxon Hemingway

BFA Coordinator

Rebecca Lee

Associate Professor: Fiction/Creative Nonfiction

Malena Mörling

Professor: Poetry

Jason Mott

Associate Professor: Fiction

Anna Lena Phillips Bell

Editor: Ecotone
Editor: Lookout Books
Assistant Professor: Publishing, Poetry


Michael Ramos

Art Director: Ecotone
Assistant Professor: Creative Nonfiction

Emily Louise Smith

Director: The Publishing Laboratory
Founder and Publisher: Lookout Books
Associate Professor: Publishing, Creative Nonfiction/Poetry


Professors Emeriti

Philip Furia

Professor Emeritus: Creative Nonfiction

Philip Gerard

Co-editor: Chautauqua
Professor Emeritus (pending): Fiction/Creative Nonfiction

The department's permanent faculty is augmented annually by a diverse and accomplished group of visiting writers. The dozen or so visiting writers and readers each year share their work with graduate and undergraduate students, conduct workshops and seminars, and offer advice about the craft of writing and the business of publishing. Guests have included winners of the Pulitzer Prize, National Book Award, and Walt Whitman Award.

Visiting Writers


Fall 2024
Meg Day, poetry
Writers Week 2024: TBA

Spring 2024
Mensah Demary, publishing
Aisha Sabatini Sloan, creative nonfiction <interview>

Fall 2023
Eduardo C. Corral, poetry
Writers Week 2023: Hanif Abdurraqib, keynote

Spring 2023
Mesha Maren, fiction
Megha Majumdar, publishing

Fall 2022
Melissa Faliveno, creative nonfiction
Writers Week 2022: Imani Perry, keynote

Spring 2022
Kazim Ali, poetry
Wiley Cash, fiction

Fall 2021
Writers Week 2021: Sandra Cisneros, keynote

Spring 2021
Ladee Hubbard, fiction

Fall 2020
Toni Jensen, fiction
Writers Week 2020: Natalie Diaz, keynote

Spring 2020
Kim Barnes, nonfiction

Fall 2019
Meg Day, poetry
Writers Week 2019: Ayana Mathis, keynote

Spring 2019
Taylor Brown, fiction
Camille T. Dungy, poetry

Fall 2018
Nickole Brown & Jessica Jacobs, poetry
Writers Week 2018: Camille T. Dungy, keynote

Spring 2018
Patricia Smith, poetry

Fall 2017
Jason Mott, fiction
Miriam Parker, publishing
John Jeremiah Sullivan, creative research
Writers Week 2017: Ross Gay, keynote

Spring 2017
Virginia Holman, creative nonfiction
Duncan Murrell, creative nonfiction
Jason Mott, poetry

Fall 2016
Jill McCorkle, fiction
Writers Week 2016: Mei Fong & Chinelo Okparanta, keynote

Spring 2016
Bill Roorbach, creative nonfiction
Nikky Finney, poetry

Fall 2015
Michael Taeckens, publishing
Writers Week 2015: Jill McCorkle, keynote

Spring 2015
Patricia Hampl, creative nonfiction
Aimee Nezhukumatathil, poetry

Fall 2014
Karen E. Bender, fiction
Writers Week 2014: Kathryn Miles, keynote

Spring 2014
Hope Edelman, creative nonfiction
A. Van Jordan, poetry
Nikky Finney, Buckner Lecture Series

Fall 2013
Jason Mott, fiction
Writers Week 2013: Natasha Tretheway, keynote
Tim O'Brien, The Big Read Lecture

Spring 2013
Cristina García, fiction

Fall 2012
Cynthia Huntington, poetry
Bob Reiss, creative nonfiction
Writers Week 2012: Bill Roorbach, keynote

Spring 2012
Mary Reufle, poetry
Edith Pearlman & John Rybicki, Chancellor's Installation

Fall 2011
Steve Almond, fiction
Scott Cairns, nonfiction
Writers Week 2011: Steve Almond, keynote

Spring 2011
Paul Lisicky, fiction
Peter Makuck, poetry

Fall 2010
John Jeremiah Sullivan, creative nonfiction
Writers Week 2010: Denis Johnson, keynote
Joyce Carol Oates, Buckner Lecture Series

Spring 2010
Diana Hume George, creative nonfiction
Karen Volkman, poetry

Fall 2009
Ben Fountain, fiction
Michael Thomas, fiction
Writers Week 2009: Allan Gurganus, keynote

Spring 2009
Zelda Lockhart, fiction
Melanie McGrath, creative nonfiction

Fall 2008
Jack Myers, poetry
Peter Trachtenberg, creative nonfiction
Writers Week Fall 2008: Jack Myers, keynote

Spring 2008
Elizabeth Kostova, fiction
A. Van Jordan, poetry
Writers Week Spring 2008: Yusef Komunyakaa, keynote

Fall 2007
Haven Kimmel, creative nonfiction
John Updike, Buckner Lecture Series

Spring 2007
Joy Williams, fiction
Gerald Stern, poetry
Writers' Week 2007: Susan Orlean, keynote

Fall 2006
Bob Reiss, creative nonfiction
George Singleton, fiction

Spring 2006
Virginia Holman, creative nonfiction
ZZ Packer, fiction
Charles Siebert, creative nonfiction
Writers' Week 2006: Jonathan Franzen, keynote

Fall 2005
Jill McCorkle, fiction
John Sullivan, creative nonfiction
Ken Burns, Buckner Lecture Series

Spring 2005
Robert Creeley, poetry
Donna Tartt, fiction
Writers' Week 2005: Robert Creeley, keynote

Fall 2004
Rick Bass, creative nonfiction
Bob Reiss, creative nonfiction
Randall Kenan, fiction

Spring 2004
Mark Doty, poetry
Writers' Week 2004: Tracy Kidder, keynote

Fall 2003
Daniel Robb, creative nonfiction

Spring 2003
Jan DeBlieu, creative nonfiction
Writers' Week 2003: Andrea Barrett, keynote

Fall 2002
Sharon Bryan, poetry
David Wright, creative nonfiction

Spring 2002
Allan Gurganus, fiction
Denise Gess, fiction
Writers' Week 2002: Galway Kinnell, keynote

Fall 2001
Karen Bender, fiction
Timothy Liu, poetry

Spring 2001
Richard Bausch, fiction
Albert Goldbarth, poetry
First Annual Writers' Week Symposium: William Least Heat-Moon, keynote

Fall 2000
Daniel Wallace, fiction
Heather McHugh, poetry

Spring 2000
Terry Tempest Williams, creative nonfiction
Carolyn Forche, poetry
Bob Reiss, fiction

Fall 1999
Bret Lott, fiction

Spring 1999
Alison Lurie, fiction

Fall 1998
Bob Reiss, fiction
Jorie Graham, poetry

Spring 1998
Mark Strand, poetry
Philip Levine, poetry
Clyde Edgerton, fiction
Dennis Sampson, poetry