Promise of Leadership Award Program

The Promise of Leadership Group is comprised of new teachers who show leadership and innovation in the classroom. Teachers are nominated by their school system and formally recognized by UNCW for their commitment and expertise with the Promise of Leadership Award. These teachers also have an opportunity to work with a UNCW Master Teacher and provide professional development to other beginning teachers during spring workshop sessions at the Beginning Teacher Professional Development Day. Each cohort receives additional professional development opportunities throughout the year.  The 2017-2018 recipients participated in a series of sessions focused on teacher resilience with Dr. Lynn Sikma and book study on cultivating a growth mindset. 

2017-2018 Promise of Leadership Award Recipients

Promise of Leadership Award Recipients

Mr. Alexander Greenspan - James Kenan High School, Duplin County
Ms. Bianca Brodie Hunt - Anderson Elementary, New Hanover County
Ms. Ashley Smith - Brunswick Early College High School, Brunswick County
Ms. Casey Rodriguez - Island Montessori, Charter
Ms. Suddona Murrell - Jones Senior High School, Jones County
Ms. Katy Leonard - Trask Middle School, New Hanover County
Ms. Hayley Meadows - Codington Elementary, New Hanover County
Ms. Loryn Casas - Hoggard High School, New Hanover County
Mr. Brandt Hart - Cape Fear Center for Inquiry, Charter
Ms. Dorothy Shumate - Beaufort Middle School, Carteret County
2017-2018 Promise of Leadership Recipient Presentations
2016-2017 Promise of Leadership Award Recipient Presentations

2015-2016 Beginning Teacher PD Day Presentations

2014-2015 Promise of Leadership Award Recipient Presentations

2013-2014 Promise of Leadership Award Recipient Presentations