Paul, Larry, Chris, Kathleen & David

Our Faculty

Paul A. Townend, Associate Professor-Chair

Modern And Early British and Irish History

 

Ph.D., University of Chicago, 1999 townendp@uncw.edu 910.962.3308

Nana A. Amponsah, Assistant Professor

African History

Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin amponsahn@uncw.edu 910.962.3692

Kathleen C. Berkeley, Associate Dean CAS & Professor

 

Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles, 1980 berkeleyk@uncw.edu 910.962.7811

Candice Bredbenner, Associate Professor & Undergraduate Coordinator

Progressive and Interwar Eras and Modern American Law

Ph.D., Unviersity of Virginia

 

bredbennerc@uncw.edu 910.962.2656

Yixin Chen, Associate Professor

Twentieth-Century Chinese socioeconomic & rural economy

Ph.D. Washington University, 1995 cheny@uncw.edu 910.962.3310

Walter H. Conser, Professor

American Religious History

Ph.D., Brown University, 1981

 

conserw@uncw.edu 910.962.3412

Nathan Crowe, Assistant Professor

Historian of Science

Ph.D., University of Minnesota, 2011 crowen@uncw.edu 910.962.2449

Venkat Dhulipala, Assistant Professor

History of Modern South Asia

Ph.D., University of Minnesota, 2008 dhulipalav@uncw.edu 910.962.2531

W. Taylor Fain, Associate Professor & Graduate Coordinator

America in the world; International History

Ph.D., University of Virginia, 2002

fainwt@uncw.edu 910.962.3305

Chris E. Fonvielle, Associate Professor & Phi Alpha Theta Coordinator

American Civil War, North Carolina, Lower Cape Fear & Southern History

Ph.D., University of South Carolina

 

fonviellec@uncw.edu 910.962.3449

Monica Gisolfi, Assistant Professor & Internship Coordinator

History of the American South

Ph.D., Columbia University, 2007

 

gisolfim@uncw.edu 910.962.3874

Tammy S. Gordon, Associate Professor

Historical exhibition, Public History & US Social

Ph.D., Michigan State University, 1998 gordont@uncw.edu 910.962.4244

Glen A. Harris, Associate Professor

African Amerian History, U.S History, Harlem Renaissance, Civil Rights Movement & Hollywood and Black Film

Ph.D. Florida State University, 2003 harrisg@uncw.edu 910.962.7894

Amy Helene Kirschke, Professor

20th Century African American Art and Culture Contemporary African Art-20th Century European Art and Modernism

Ph.D., Tulane University, 1991 Kirschkea@uncw.edu 910.962.4118

David La Vere, Professor

Southeastern and North Carolina Indians, Southern Plains

Ph.D., Texas A & M University, 1993 lavered@uncw.edu 910.962.3315

Susan P. McCaffray,Professor

Russia, Soviet Union, Nineteenth-Century Europe

Ph.D., Duke University, 1983

 

mccaffrays@uncw.edu 910.962.7542

William J. McCarthy, Associate Professor

Early Modern Europe, Iberia, Colonial, Maritime

Ph.D., Boston University, 1991

 

mccarthyw@uncw.edu 910.962.3313

Eva Mehl, Assistant Professor

Latin American History

Ph.D., University of California, Davis, 2011 mehle@uncw.edu 910.962.3692

Lynn W. Mollenauer, Associate Professor

Early Modern French History

Ph.D., Northwestern University, 1999 mollenauerl@uncw.edu 910.962.3311

C. Lisa Pollard, Associate Professor

Modern Middle East

Ph.D., University of California at Berkeley, 1997 pollardl@uncw.edu 910.962.3309

Michael M. Seidman, Professor

Modern Europe and Social/Individual History

Ph.D.,University of Amsterdam, 1982

 

seidmanm@uncw.edu 910.962.3319

Kenneth P. Shefsiek, Assistant Professor

Public History and Historic Preservation

Ph.D., University of Georgia, 2010 shefsiekk@uncw.edu 910.962.3861

Robert M. Spaulding, Professor

Germany, European Political Economy, Global Trade

Ph.D., Harvard University, 1989

 

spauldingr@uncw.edu 910.962.3934

Jarrod Tanny, Assistant Professor-Charles & Hannah Block Distinguished Fellow in Jewish History

Russian-Jewish History

Ph.D, University of California at Berkeley, tannyj@uncw.edu 910.962.7580

Larry W. Usilton, Professor

Ancient and Medieval Western Civilization

Ph.D., Mississippi State University, 1971 usiltonl@uncw.edu 910.962.3312

Alan D. Watson, Professor

North Carolina History

Ph.D., University of South Carolina, 1971 watsona@uncw.edu 910.962.3314

Our Staff

Tammie Grady Administrative Associate Department Budget Manager & Web Content Editor gradyt@uncw.edu 910.962.3656
Allison Lawlor Administrative Associate Student Personnel and Travel lawlora@uncw.edu 910.962.3307

UNC Wilmington | 601 S. College Road, Wilmington NC 28403 | 910.962.3000 | About this Site | Copyright Notice | Feedback | Page maintained by:  T. Grady[ gradyt AT uncw DOT edu ]