Katrin Wesner

Katrin A. Wesner, CAPPM, Director
Abrons Student Health Center
(910) 962-4126
wesnerk@uncw.edu

Katrin is responsible for management of the Abrons Student Health Center for the university which includes medical services, health promotion and the pharmacy. She is responsible for policy development and implementation, budget management, public relations, and personnel.

Presentation Topics: The Role of College Health on Campus; Taking Charge of Your Own Health Care; Conference/Meeting Planning

Leigh McManus

Leigh L. McManus, Associate Director
Abrons Student Health Center
(910) 962-4126
mcmanusl@uncw.edu


Rachel Baldwin

Rachel Baldwin, MD
Abrons Student Health Center
(910)962-3280
baldwinr@uncw.edu

Dr. Baldwin is a part-time physician in the Student Health Center. She provides direct patient care to students, and serves as backup for the Medical Director.


Walt Laughlin

Walter Laughlin, MD, Medical Director
Abrons Student Health Center
(910) 962-3280
laughlinw@uncw.edu

Dr. Laughlin oversees medical care in the Student Health Center. He provides direct patient care and supervises the care of physician extenders. In addition, he serves as consultant and adviser to the University for a broad range of issues, from individual health care to community well-being.




Kathy Hodge

Kathy Hodge, RN
Abrons Student Health Center
(910) 962-3280

hodgek@uncw.edu


Kathy Hodge, RN has nursing experience in Cardiology, Intensive Care, Med-Surg, and has an extensive background in Gastroenterology and Endoscopy. Kathy loves the nursing profession and especially enjoys not only teaching but also learning from the UNCW students.


Linda Howard

Linda Howard, RN
Abrons Student Health Center
(910) 962-3280
howardl@uncw.edu


Linda has been a Registered Nurse for the past 24 years. She has worked in Student Health for the past twelve years. Her nursing duties include administering allergy injections and immunizations.


Nancy Patz

Nancy Patz, Physician Assistant
Abrons Student Health Center
(910) 962-3280
patzn@uncw.edu


Nancy is the physician assistant with four years of experience in family practice/internal medicine. She is interested in women's health issues and preventive medicine. Her primary duties include obtaining history and physical exams that lead to diagnosis and treatment of common illnesses that effect the young adult population.

Photo Unavailable

Wendy Bledsoe, Lead Registered Nurse
Abrons Student Health Center
(910) 962-
bledsoew@uncw.edu



Ranae Roots

Ranae Roots, LPN
Abrons Student Health Center
(910) 962-3280
rootsr@uncw.edu


Ranae is one of the nurses in Student Health and her job consists of working with students in a health care setting, utilizing nursing skills and offering TLC when necessary.


Mary Canal

Mary Canel, Adult Nurse Practitioner
Abrons Student Health Center
(910) 962-7128
canelm@uncw.edu


Mary works with students who are dealing with physical and emotional health concerns. She diagnoses and treats illness, placing an emphasis on education for disease prevention and wellness promotion.

Presentation Topics: Women's Health, Men's Health, Cancer prevention and early detection, Sexual Health


Kait Goodnight

Kait Goodnight, Administrative Secretary
Abrons Student Health Center
(910) 962-4126
goodnightk@uncw.edu

This position provides administrative support to the Director of Student Health Services.


Terri Ismert

Joanne "Terry" Ismert, Adult Nurse Practitioner
Abrons Student Health Center
(910) 962-4128
ismertt@uncw.edu


Terry is one of two nurse practitioners that provides health care for our students to include general health care problems and health care specifically design to address women's health issues. Included in our student contacts are health teaching to help our students to become knowledgeable about their own health and health care needs.

Presentation Topices: STI's facts about prevention and treatment; Self care for common illnesses (colds, flu, stomach viruses) - when Mom isn't around; How to prevent infection; How to pick the right over the counter medication


heidi gierie, pharmacy manager, abrons student health center

Heidi Gierie, Pharmacy Manager
Abrons Student Health Center
(910) 962-3016
gierief@uncw.edu


This position dispenses medication on prescriptions from off campus prescribers, as well as Student Health Service providers. Each encounter with a student is used as an opportunity to counsel and educate. Advice is also given on over-the counter drug selection and usage.

Presentation Topics:


Lynn Blanchard

Lynn Blanchard, Pharmacy Technician
Abrons Student Health Center
(910) 962-3280
blanchardl@uncw.edu


This position assists the pharmacist in all aspects of dispensing, inventory control, and daily accounting procedures, as well as acting as cashier for Student Health Services.


Emily Bridgman

Emily Bridgman, MT-ASCP, Medical Technologist I
Abrons Student Health Center
(910) 962-3064
bridgmane@uncw.edu


This position is responsible for all phases of clinical laboratory testing, quality assurance, quality control, instrument maintenance, policy and procedure manuals, test method development.

Presentation Topics: The Role of the Clinical Laboratory


Photo Unavailable

Cassie Barker, Medical Records Assistant
Abrons Student Health Center
(910) 962-3280

barkerc@uncw.edu


This position is responsible for all aspects of medical records from scheduling and checking in student appointments, answering the telephone and maintaining the patient charts.


Pam Ward

Pam Ward, Medical Records
Abrons Student Health Center
(910) 962-3280
wardp@uncw.edu


This position is responsible for all aspects of medical records from scheduling and checking in student appointments, answering the telephone and maintaining the patient charts.




Photo Unavailable

Becky Buckley, Registered Nurse
Abrons Student Health Center
(910) 962-3280
buckleyr@uncw.edu


Charles Bay

Charles Bay, Physican Assistant
Abrons Student Health Center
(910) 962-3280
bayc@uncw.edu


 


UNC Wilmington | 601 S. College Road, Wilmington NC 28403 | 910.962.3000 | About this Site | Copyright Notice | Feedback | Page maintained by:  Trisha Schleicher Tinney [schleichert@uncw.edu]